1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Laptop suddenly stopped and resume after minutes

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by mac_t13, Apr 26, 2016.

  1. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Recently when I am using my laptop, it will stop suddenly and no respond. After minute it will resume again. May I know could my laptop have virus? Thank you.
     
  2. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Hi mac_t13,
    I seem to remember you had mouse problems on that laptop before.... maybe I remember lol..
    Try new batteries if that is a wireless mouse......
    got to go to work, catch you later..

    2oG
     
  3. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh, yes! Good memory, lol. That time was really my usb mouse problems, haha, I have changed to a new usb mouse. This time is different it will just suddenly stop for minutes, even the key board no respond. Is there any software to check for detect any virus? I don't have any anti virus. Thank you.
     
  4. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Holy Mackerel, Mac that's harakiri (腹切り, or ritual suicide! Get an Anti-virus! I use and prefer Avast Free..

    Let's start with this:
    Please download Zemana AntiMalware and save it to your Desktop.
    • Install the program and once the installation is complete it will start automatically.
    • Without changing any options, press Scan to begin.
    • After the short scan is finished, if threats are detected press Next to remove them.
    Note: If restart is required to finish the cleaning process, you should click Reboot. If reboot isn't required, please restart your computer manually.
    • Open Zemana AntiMalware again.
    • Click on [​IMG] icon and double click the latest report.
    • Now click File > Save As and choose your Desktop before pressing Save.
    • The only thing left is to attach saved report in your next message.
    - - -
    Please attach all reports using [​IMG] button below. Doing this, you make it easier for me to analyze and fix your problem.
    - - -

    2oG :cool:
     
  5. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thank you so much. File attached
     

    Attached Files:

  6. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    How's it doing now???
     
  7. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mornitoring, blessed that no bad thing happen yet...lol. Thank you, will be back again if not well again...thank you.
     
  8. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    That should do it. if not, I'll be here.....

    P.S. install an antivirus! :p
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes, install an antivirus program.
     
  10. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have done with the avast free installed. Thank you guy!
     
  11. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Take care...
     
  12. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, I have to seek help again, Oh no! Seem like the problem still exist. I suspect is my Internet explorer casing the lagging, but not sure. Do you think I should reload the IE or any way to check it out? Thank you
     
  13. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    OK mac,
    Run me a FRST Scan and I'll look it over to see what problems I can find:

    [​IMG] Scan with Farbar Recovery Scan Tool

    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop.
    • Right-click on [​IMG] icon and select [​IMG] Run as Administrator to start the tool.
    • When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Make sure that Addition option is checked.
    • Press Scan button and wait.
    • The tool will produce two logfiles on your desktop: FRST.txt and Addition.txt.
    Please attach both logs to your next reply.

    2oG
     
  14. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here are the two files. Thank you 2oldGeek.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    OK mac,
    I see a few things that need to be fixed and a few that I'm not sure of... So, let's see if we can clear the things I'm not sure of first with the following:

    [​IMG] Scan with ZOEK

    Please download ZOEK by Smeenk and save it to your desktop (preferred version is the *.exe one)
    Please also download the attached scriptfile, named zoekscript.txt.


    [​IMG] Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware programs, so they do not interfere with the running of Zoek.exe. You can find instructions how to disable your security applications here.

    Now, on your Desktop, drag and drop zoekscript.txt on Zoek.exe as shown below:
    [​IMG]

    Please approve any UAC prompt to allow this action to proceed.

    Answer Yes to the following prompt to allow the zoek script to run:

    [​IMG]

    This action causes Zoek.exe to start automatically. Please be patient while Zoek is scanning.

    When the tool finishes, the zoek-results.log is opened in Notepad.
    The log is also found on the systemdrive, normally C:\
    If a reboot is needed, the log is opened after the reboot.

    Please attach the zoek-results.log to your reply.


    2oG
     

    Attached Files:

  16. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    May I know where to dl this txt file?
     
  17. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry......I found the txt attached file..thank you
     
  18. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    While scanning, this message pop-up :
    DaS21 has stopped working
    A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.
    Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.
     
  19. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    You got me! never heard of that one!..... I dunno!

    Do a power reset and then try again:

    (Step 1) Shut down and power off the computer.

    (Step 2) Once the computer is powered off, unplug the power cord. If it is a laptop also remove the battery. It is important that any way for the system to keep getting power is unplugged or unhooked.

    (Step 3) With the power cord unplugged and the battery removed (if you have one), hit the power button a few times as if you are trying to turn on the computer. When you do this and the computer tries to turn on, all the electricity is drained out of the system.

    (Step 4) Plug the power cord back in and reinsert the battery (if you have one) and turn the computer on.

    All done!

    Once Windows is loaded you can continue on with running zoek... Be sure to disable Avast....

    Let me know..
    2oG
     
  20. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here is the file. Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page