1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Latest Tutorial for Samsung TSH943 with ms25 FW

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by Brewgod23, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have been reading on how to flash my 360 Samsung DVD drive but have found some many methods and firmware that I am now confused as to what is the latest firmware (FW) and which is the easiest method. I would like some one to point me the the latest tutorial for flashing my Samsung TSH943 with ms25 FW.

    I have seen:
    xtreme 5.3
    KDX1.5-by-F360TEAM

    I was hoping to find something like the xbox360USB by team-excuter.
     
  2. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How do I find out what SATA controller I have?

    Is VIA VT6421A pci card the only chip set that works?
     
  3. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  4. smileyjim

    smileyjim Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Download a program called iprep and also the ixtreme1.3 firmware.
    thats the latest firmware.
    You can get these from a program called xbins.
     
  5. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How can I find out if my SATA controller will work before I go out and but a SATA controller card?
     
  6. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Search the model number of your motherboard. You're looking for your southbridge.
     
  7. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I found the firmware you asked me to find, but I get an error when using iXtreme 1.3. I iPREP asks me to load the firmware and when I go to load the firmware file "ix-13C.bin", I get the error "No valid firmware loaded". I try "iXtreme 1.2" and load "ixtrem12.bin" and this works fine to create my bootable disc.

    Another question before I undertake this project. I have x360USB connectivity kit and it has a power adapter circuit board that is use to power connect to the PC Molex cable and the other end connects to the 360 DVD drive power connector. Can I use this to power my DVD drive and the SATA cable on the controller to the SATA connector on the DVD drive? This will eliminate the need to have the xbox 360 powered "On" to power the DVD drive and also eliminate the grounding voltage differential that can cause bricking the 360.
     
  8. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You have an ATI chipset and I'm pretty sure it won't.
     
  10. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can some one answer these questions?
     
  11. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No one has run into this problem?
     
  12. Bo0nd0ck

    Bo0nd0ck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nevermind, problem solved.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
  13. xbubbax

    xbubbax Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    use textbooks guide and you cant screw up...no need for a connectivity kit.
     
  14. davidgroh

    davidgroh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You need to update the ixDef.xml file to make iPrep 101 accept the new fw. You can find this as http://www.x-projects.org

    Hope this helps.

    Davey Grohlton
     
  15. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just wanted to know if I can do this before I tried it. It would make it easy for me because I already have this circuit board to power the 360 DVD drive and when I disconnect all my other DVD drives on the computer and hard drive as the "Textbook" says to do, the only drive I will have connected on my computer will be this 360 DVD drive and there is no fear of flashing my other drives by accident. I also won't have to use a ground strap between the 360 chase and the PC chase. See my problem with my PC is that my bios does not allow me to boot from my USB stick. I have the use the CD and then I can save my original.bin file to the CD. I think I am going to have to live with this fact.

    (I can't boot from my USB stick and save my .bin file so I must boot from my CD and I can't write to the CD. I am stuck.)
     
  16. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Do you have a floppy drive? You can make a bootable floppy with mtkflash. It may not be as reliable as USB, but if you make sure you have a good floppy you should be fine. Even if you don't have a floppy drive they're only like $10 in any computer parts store.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
  17. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    And if your computers hdd is NTFS you can use a NTFS for DOS CD and write the orig.bin to the C:\ drive of your computer.
     
  18. Brewgod23

    Brewgod23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    But if I use the C:\ to write my orig.bin file, don't I run the risk of updating the HDD firmware?
     
  19. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @Brewgod23
    Watch the back to back - edit your previous post instead.
     

Share This Page