1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Layer switch problem

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by nrawson, Jan 22, 2004.

1. nrawson

nrawson Guest

I have been copying DVD's for about 3 months. I have a region 2 DVD that has me stumped. I have tried DVD Decrypter, SmartRipper, and DVD Shrink. All get stuck at the layer switch point. I tried telling DVD Decrypter to ignore errors, but the ripped vob file is garbage from that point on.

I posted this in the newbie's forum first and had no luck.

The DVD has a momentary freeze at that point when played on my standalone player, but PowerDVD bombs if I play it on my computer. I have replaced the DVD, and complained to the manufacturer that it wouldn't play on my computer. He agrees the pause is there, but there is nothing to be done about it.

I ripped in file mode, and skipped that file when I had the problem, then tried to rip only that file later. It didn't help.

It is an eposodic DVD, Coupling season 3, and the problem is right in the middle of episode 4.

Is there any ripping software that can handle this problem?

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Shrink 3.1.3: Edit> Preferences> Output Files> Check the box to Remove Layer Break.

3. nrawson

nrawson Guest

I just now tried it. About half way through analysis I get the error,

dvd shrink encountered an error and cannot continue
    data error (cyclic redundance check).

_X_X_X_X_X_[small]Norm[/small]

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2004
  4. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

A cyclic redundancy error almost always means dirt or damage on your source disc. Give it a careful inspection and a through cleaning.
    Try an Afterdawn search for "cyclic redundancy" and you will see what I'm talking about.

5. nrawson

nrawson Guest