1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD worse pic than CRT.

Discussion in 'HDTV discussion' started by nerro, Feb 28, 2007.

1. nerro

nerro Member

Hi guys,

i need some help. i recently got a 42" philips lcd tv. i connected my ps2 up to it using a rgb scart lead, when i started playing i noticed that the picture quality was actually a little worse than how it looked on my 32" sony crt. It was quite blurry.

Now is this because of the cable im using or will i only get a better picture on the hdtv compared to crt if the source is hd like a ps3?

If it is the cable could anyone tell me what type of cable i need.

Thanks

2. Xian

Xian Regular member

Most HDTVs do not display standard definition sources such as a PS2 as well as a CRT.

3. Rob423

Rob423 Member

yea the Tuners in the HDTV show regular TV terrible in my opinion.

if you have an HDTV, try to watch HD only content.

4. Flameon

Flameon Member

Get PS2 Component cables and it will look clear.

5. nerro

nerro Member

Thanks, i'll try the component cables. Any particular brand you guys would recommend? i've heard that the Monster brand are supposed to be pretty good but they are avery expensive. I've seen cheaper cables on ebay. is it worth paying the extra for the monster? looking at a difference of about £30.

6. Flameon

Flameon Member

Monster Cables are trash and a complete waste of money. Get the cheapest cables you can find on eBay and they will look just as good as the Monster cables.

7. garmoon

garmoon Regular member

It would be hard to find much to watch with Cox cable in HD. There are local channels and a handfull of other choices along with 2 ESPNS.

8. Pop_Smith

Pop_Smith Regular member

I would disagree with that statement. I conducted an A-B test when my parents put together their home entertainment center which consists of:

Mitsubishi 55" Diamond Series 1080i