1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Line-in Recordin problem - Help please....

Discussion in 'Audio' started by seetha, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. seetha

    seetha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi there...
    Im usin MusicMatch Jukebox (v 9) and im havin problems with the "line-in recordin" feature...
    I've been tryin to convert some dear old tracks from audio cassettes to mp3...and i seem to be stuck...help me out please
    like, i got the right type of cable, plugged into blue line-in socket in my machine...
    i can HEAR whatever i play in my external player, in my computer speaker...so im guessin the cable is not the problem
    In the (system tray) volume control, under the advanced properties i made sure the line-in box is checked in the "adjust volume for" RECORDING, in addition to PLAYBACK
    so far so good...
    The problem starts when i try to record stuff...i set the recorder source to line-in in the MusicMatch Jukebox settings (as reccomended in "line-in recording" help section).
    Next, im supposed to click the "burn to cd" button...and the "BurnerPlus" window pops up as promised...FROM HERE I GET LOST...
    Im able to select & burn only tracks already in my pc - NOT FROM THE LINE-IN SOURCE...infact, there is no indication that burnerplus is even aware of the line-in source( which is active-i can still hear it)
    SO...WHATS WRONG ? am i missin somethin basic here ?
    In the "Sounds & Audio devices properties" from control panel, under the "Audio" tab, SimaTel Audio is the "default device" for both Sound playback and Sound RECORDING

    The sound card - im not too sure about this, but i think im usin Sigmatel C-Major audio (thats the one that shows up in the list of devices on the "hardware" tab) - do i need some kinda extra sound card to be able to do line-in recordin?

    whats the problem..its jus over my head and i cant fiure anythin out...

    help me out please...

    thanx guys...

    seetha
     
  2. EsirnuS

    EsirnuS Guest

    Personally i would record the line in source to wav on your hard drive - then using a clean up app, take out the "noise" and then convert to MP3 and burn

    im not familiar with musicmatch jukebox - but trying to all that in one process is probably where the problem lies.

    maybe im wrong =)

    Es
     
  3. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Wrong :-(
    Es is correct, you need to record to Redbook-standard PCM WAV files on your HD.
    A simple program that does this (and more!) is CDex, check it out:
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/audio_software/cd-da_extractors/cdex.cfm
    It is a little-known fact that CDex can record from analog input (ie. your line in) ;-)
    Regards
     
  4. seetha

    seetha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx for the tips guys..

    i found somethin much better...i dumped the jukebox.

    check it out if u wanna do analog tapes to mp3(or wav)

    http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

    lean, clean and totally robust...and ofcourse TRUE freeware, like always from sourceforge...

    cheers

     
  5. tonymc

    tonymc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im useing wave lab but would like 2 try musicmatch how good is it and dose it only convert 2 mp3
     
  6. seetha

    seetha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes i think so...

    u can vary the output format(mp3,wav)as well as the bitrate(58,126) in Musicmatch

    fact is, i didnt use musicmatch for more than two days...what i was really lookin for was a tool to capture& record from real-time line-in sources...i jus stumbled on musicmatch...

    BUT, once i found the Audacity(which does exactly what i wanted) i dumped musicmatch(which does a whole lot of other things that im not interested in)

    Bottomline -YES MUSICMATCH IS A GOOD SOFTWARE... but i cant say what are the feautres u r expecting...most probably u WILL find what ur lookin for in MUSICMATCH JUKEBOX

    seetha
     
  7. EsirnuS

    EsirnuS Guest

    Tonymc

    what are you currently using Wave Lab for that you wish to use Musicmatch for ?

     

Share This Page