1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Liteon 83850C Firmware Erase

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by anonimity, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. anonimity

    anonimity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was recently trying to flash a Liteon 83850C with JungleFlasher 1.84, Windows XP, and a connectivity kit. I got to the "Erase," stage and JungleFlasher reported there was no flash type. I'm sorry I don't have the log, I'll explain in a second.

    While I was trying to research what the problem was, I think my PC did a hardware scan, found the firnware-less DVD drive, and hung. Now, anytime I attach the 360 DVDdrive with no firmware, my system hangs.

    Am I out of luck? Is there a newer tutorial I ought to be following to flash Liteons? Finally, I thought I had downloaded the latest LT1.9 software but, JungleFlasher loaded up, LTPlus-838v2v1.1.bin. Is that the current "state of the art," or do I need to find another download?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    did u save your firmware,is so the drive is still alive,the reason why ur pc hangs u need to erase the viaraid driver from your system32 drivers folder,then hook up the drive,reload your dummy bin and fw,go to LO erase and try it again,hope that helps,now if you didnt save your firmware your SOL,u have a 200$ dvd player
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  3. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Freezing usually means you didn't rename or delete the via drivers within windows.
     
  4. anonimity

    anonimity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you both for the help. I've renamed the driver and gotten my VIA Sata Card to appear as a yellow exclamation mark. But, now I don't see the drive. I just get the no VIA Ports found error message. If I file through the I/O Port drop down box, it lists only my local hard drive and DVD Drive.

    Jungle Flasher claims PortIO32.sys is installed and it is also listed in device manager as, "Winford Engineering I/O Devices, PortIO32 Port I/O Driver."

    What else am I missing? Something with the connectivity kit? I've got it attached through SATA, set to com (Vs. USB) and the blue mode light is on.

    Oh, and I saved whatever files came from the LO83 info dump. I assume the "Key," file is the key. Is one of them the original firmware, as well?
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  5. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    try ejecting the drive and then close it back see if that helps it show up again!
     
  6. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    that would happened to me,if u remember what what i/o port u used in the drop down menu,select that load ur firmwares,then go to L0 erase follow the directions drive should show up with 72 status
     
  7. anonimity

    anonimity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the eject idea. How do I make it eject? With no firmware on it, the drive ignores the connectivity kit's eject requests.

    I do rememebr which port it was on. 1X0DC0 on the VIA Sata Card. It does not appear in the IO Port Drop Down Box. Jungle Flasher is reporting "No VIA Ports Found," since disabling the drivers for my card. How do I select the port if it's not listed?

    Which of the dumped files is the firmware: Dummy, Identify, Inquiry, Key, or Serial?
     
  8. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    your dummy is the key,its not gonna show the port since it thinks the drive is erase just load it up and do the steps i posted a lil while ago
     
  9. anonimity

    anonimity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've followed your steps. Jungle Flasher sends the erase request to the wrong port and the request ofcourse fails.

    Even if I enter a port into the drop down, it ignores what I've typed and sends the request to the port I over wrote.
     
  10. sn0wman1

    sn0wman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    When this happens to me i reboot pc and switch on drive just after, You could try the tray half open, to get the drive ejected you will need to poke a tiny screwdriver in the hole on the front of the drive and do it manually, You might also want to download lt 1.9, your jungleflasher loaded lt1.1
     
  11. drybrdl

    drybrdl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The Ports wont be enumerated till you reboot the PC after removing Drivers.
    Reboot PC then select the correct Port, Click Intro/Device ID then yes to resend.You will then see ....... Appearing in the log at the bottom, Powercycle the drive and you should have good flashchip properties. If not try Liteon Erase again.
     

Share This Page