1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LiteOn Bad Flash Question

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by rpatricky, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm sitting at work and have been reading that the new Xbox 360 Dashboard changes the LiteOn DVD firmware and so my, explanation and question is this; I have a LiteOn 7xxx drive with a bad flash. The 360 will power on but sit at the XBOX logo for a while before giving me the E-64 error. My 360 currently has the old dashboard and iXtreme 1.61 on it. Will downloading the newest Dash from MS XBOX Site, putting it on a thumb drive and plugging it into the 360 fix my bad flash by updating to the new dash?
    The reason I am asking and have not tried it is because I am at work and also, wasn't sure if the 360 will read the thumb drive instantly upon turning the 360 on.
     
  2. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No that won't work. The only way to fix it s is to flash a good firmwware to the drive. If you don't at least have the DVD key you are SOL.
     
  3. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    agreed, if you have the proper key on the drive, which i doubt you do i would say that yes it would work, but as memnock stated if the key is wrong you are SOL
     
  4. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the original firmware but can't access the drive anymore in JF....or I may be doing something completely wrong.
     
  5. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If you can't get the drive to show in jungle flasher DOSFLASH is a good option since you have the key. You'll need to make a bootable USB flash drive. A floppy works too had to have one. I think this tutorial should be all you need.

    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=672478
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  6. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What about something like the xk3y that is supposed to be out this month?
    Looks like a DVD drive bypass. My 360 is banned from live so I don't care much what methods I have to use to get it up and running.
    i will be trying the dosflash thing tonight. I appreciate your assistance.
     
  7. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  8. zpaitsel

    zpaitsel Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I Believe you need the dvd key for the xkey to work also .. sounds like you just fluffed the flash.. i would open jf select the correct sata port for your drive with the drive powered on then turn off...hit intro/device ID / wait for the ... then power the drive on .. if nothing happens after about 10 second's power cycle the drive once more.. it should recognize the drive at that point.

    If you can't get it done .. i could do it thru team viewer if you need assistance.. but accordingly .. you need the key / or dummy.bin/ or some type of dump from the drive.// or you can check a jf log and manual spoof the drive if you saved the notepad logs
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  9. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
     
  10. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks. I will give this a try. My CK3 Pro is arriving tomorrow so I won't have to use the darn 360 for the power anymore. I will give this a shot and let you know.
     
  11. SONA007

    SONA007 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just to ensure that the origional firmware is good you can try loading the same in Jungle Flasher after clicking Source Firmware Btn. If you can see the Drive Key then you are good to go..Simply Load the new Stock Firmware for Liteon Drive which is 0251c using JF 1.83 or above (preferably JF 1.86 or JF 1.87) and click on LiteOn Erase.Click Yes on the next 2 messages.Once it starts to send vendor intro during erase after you can see the dots .... appearing Turn Power Off and then ON ( within 1-2 secs ) to the DVD.If the correct Sata Port is selected it should force the Drive in Vendor Mode and will start the erase.You can then go ahead with write. Click on Outro.Put the DVD back into the xBox Unit.
    You may have to Update to Dash 12625 and then 13146 ( Reflashes the DVD Drive Firmware but may not reflash again as you would have already flashed the new stock firmware to the Drive).Although latest dash is 13599 but even if you do not apply the update you should be fine.The newer XGD2 game discs viz. Dead Island onwards have 13599 update.You can modify the game Iso to delete the SystemUpdate folder and then reburn to a new Disc.That way you can avoid Dash 13599 which has checks againt Spoofing.
    Go ahead and reflash to LT 2.0 using the same method of hitting LiteOn Erase to force the drive in vendor mode. Hope that helps !
     
  12. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I got it to 2.0 but the weird thing is that it shows the drive but no valid key, in jungleflasher. I've done Samsung and BenQ drives just fine. I don't know wtf I am missing with the LiteOn? Games work fine backups and originals. Don't have the new RAGE or Gears 3 to test that out but if the others play then they should work....right?
     
  13. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It's not going to show the key in Jungle flasher because it's a lite-on on lt plus 2.0. The only way to get the key in Jungle flasher is with a modified probe for all ix LT Plus and higher firmware.
     
  14. rpatricky

    rpatricky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Phew! It was just a tad confusing because all the Jungle Flasher tutorials I had seen showed a key but that was after it was probed. There wasn't any tutorials, that I could locate, that showed how to upgrade.
    Thank you for all the help Memnock and everyone else who posted.
     

Share This Page