1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LONG: Bootlegging DVDs? JACKPOT???

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by ls3mach, Oct 18, 2004.

1. ls3mach

ls3mach Member

Admins please read this before closing the thread, the title is somewhat misleading.

I am a manager at a grocery store. Before I was the store manager I was the video department manager. I still do the order for the department and oversee a few things. My boss, the general manager, showed me a DVD that one of our customers had brought in. The customer was offered a job selling the DVDs to a specified area. He would be selling them to us for $10 each, this is substantially cheaper than our current dealer. I looked the DVD over and my first thought was bootleg. It had what I thought to be tell-tell signs of this. I used to backup my own DVDs so I knew the procedure and some things to look for. The first thing I spotted was, while looking at the DVD from the bottom, data side, the innermost ring was clear and you could see the paper backing of the label. I know that when I stamped my DVDs you could see the paper ring as well. The next thing I looked for was a texture on top. When I stamped my own labels, you could feel the elevation change. This was non-existent on these movies. I also noticed that the dye was not purple, the bottom of the disk were silver, just like a manufactored DVD. The artwork on the case also varied from the ones that we had order, this I thought was no big deal. The inner insert is not in any of the DVDs. The jewel cases are also different than the ones we got from our distributor, even though the movies were the same, I thought that this was nothing major just a different batch. All of the DVDs say DVD9, I know this to mean Dual Layer, or 9.4GB. When I used to burn my collection, I would have to compress my DVD9 movies to fit onto my DVD5 disk.