1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for an R4 kit.

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by xxpanda, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    And I found this one on dealextreme. I'm new to all this stuff, so I was just going to make sure that deal is a good price. Also, does that include all the stuff I'll need? Or are there additional products I should buy?

    One more thing: I don't have to mod my DS in any way to use that, do I? Any help at all would be appreciated, so thanks in advance!
     
  2. Joshewah

    Joshewah Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No modding required. All you need is the R4/M3 with a 1 or 2 gigabyte micro SD card. I would suggest a micro SD made by Kingston and if you can find it, look for one that was manufactured in Japan. I have a 1gb Kingston manufactured in Taiwan that performs flawlessly for me, so if you don't get a Japanese one it's not the end of the world. Other than that just make sure you format the micro SD card to the FAT 16 format and use the latest firmware for your R4.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  3. juno_567

    juno_567 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  4. Joshewah

    Joshewah Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. juno_567

    juno_567 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    mine was 14.99 n tax and free shipping :D at walmart its like $30-60 lol
     
  6. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for all the help! I can't wait to get all my stuff. ^_^

    Approximately, how many games can fit on that 1 GB card?
     
  7. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    average games run from around 32mb,64mb,or up to 125mb(around there, like 126,124, or something)so you can fit a good ammount of space on a 1gb at a time.
     
  8. Joshewah

    Joshewah Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    With a 1gb card you will usually get between 10 and 20 games to fit.

    I have 12 DS games, a couple SNES games, and a couple Sega games all on my 1gb card.
     
  9. juno_567

    juno_567 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you use a rom trimmer you can fit alot more
     
  10. Joshewah

    Joshewah Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Doesn't trimming roms take out some of the functionality though? Such as web play and and features other than the main game?
     
  11. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh wow, I didn't know you'd be able to fit so many! This is probably the coolest thing ever.
     
  12. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It does eliminate your web play capability, but keeps the ROM intact.
     
  13. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So, let me just make sure: there's no hidden catch to all this, is there? The DS can still play normal games? It just sounds way too good to be true.
     
  14. Joshewah

    Joshewah Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There is no catch. It really is the easiest system to run backups and homebrew on.

    edit: and yes, you can still play normal games. Just take your R4 or M3 out of the game slot and put a game in.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2007
  15. juno_567

    juno_567 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    actually you can still play wifi, i do it all the time with mario kart, infact all of my roms are trimmed and i still play wifi and ds download
     
  16. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you so much for all your help.
     
  17. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry for the double post, but I have another question:

    Can this run every game that's out so far? Or is that functionality still being worked on? If not, is there a list of games that work and don't work?
     
  18. pryme_H

    pryme_H Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    So far yes.
     
  19. woof811

    woof811 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  20. xxpanda

    xxpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This whole thing still amazes me with how simple it is. Thanks for all your help, guys!
     

Share This Page