1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

looking to make a backup up copy of Minority Report

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Ra1n, Oct 10, 2007.

1. Ra1n

Ra1n Member

I'm looking to make a backup up copy of Minority Report which is 2:25 in length. I have no knowledge or experience in burning a dual layered disc to a dvdr and this will be my first attempt at doing so. The programs I have are Anydvd, dvdclone and dvdshrink. How can I burn a movie of this length using those programs, onto one single dvd and still maintain almost 100% picture quality? I don't care about extra features, but I would like to keep the main menu and subtitles. I'm trying to avoid using 2 discs, but if I must use 2, how is it done? (I will be watching this movie on a 32 inch hdtv, so quality is important) Can someone list how this can be accomplished in simple, straightforward steps?

Last edited: Oct 10, 2007
  2. JaguarGod

JaguarGod Active member

Use VobBlanker and blank out all the extra features.

Rip the movie using AnyDVD. Then open the DVD Folder using VobBlanker.

Go to "Titles=>Blank All"

Next, find the VTS with the main movie. Select it and click on "Skip".

Under settings, place a check on "use input folder".

Hit process. VobBlanker should finish in about 5 seconds. Close VobBlanker.

Next, open the folder with DVD Shrink. This will let you shrink the movie more if needed or just create an ISO if not.

Process the movie and use the "Create ISO Image" option. Also, if it is compressing, make sure that Deep Analysis is checked. After a couple of minutes, you will have an ISO image.

Next, use ImgBurn to burn the ISO to DVDR.

3. Ra1n

Ra1n Member

Will compressing reduce the picture quality? I can not even fit an 84 min movie onto one disc unless its compressed; I'm not sure what compressing actually does.