1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mac Burning Problems

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by mrcapone, Jul 29, 2003.

1. mrcapone

mrcapone Guest

Hello- I have recently ripped a DVD and I would like to burn it. I have done this a million times before on a PC, but I am new to doing this with a Mac. I have ripped the DVD with DVD Backup 1.3 and I want to burn it. I dont need the expertise of compression, because I am trying out a DVD that I have already burned before, so I compressed it when I burned it with my PC. Now, I am trying to burn with Toast, Version 5.2.1, and whenever I add my VIDEO_TS files and click burn, it comes up with a message saying " Toast cannot burn in Mac OS standard, please switch to Mac OS Extended. First off, I have no idea what Mac OS extended is, nor do I have any clue as to how I may go about switching. I have also tried burning with the plain burning Rom that was included in the comp, where you drag the file to the blank disc and then drag it to the trash, where it will burn from there. Not only does this take an immense amount of time, but It does not work at all. If someone could please address my problem and how I might go about solving it, I would be most appreciative. Thanks.

2. highe5

highe5 Guest

To burn a DVD in Toast to a blank DVD, you need to choose "Other". Above the word "Other" you'll see an icon that looks like a filing cabinet - just move your mouse over this icon (you'll see it get slightly bolder) and click & hold and the menu should drop down. The DVD option should then be the 3rd one on the list - choose "DVD".

Now click "New DVD" (botton left hand corner) and name it exactly the same as the original DVD (ie, all capitals, and "_" instead of spaces, eg "CATCH_ME_IF_YOU_CAN").

Next, drag your "VIDEO_TS" folder contaning the files that were created by DVDBackup into Toast and burn, baby, burn...

3. JonB

JonB Member