1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MacBook or Notebook????

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by Silo45, Mar 26, 2007.

1. Silo45

Silo45 Member

Im a student studying Software Engineering and Im interested in buying a laptop, and let me tell you this I REALLY want a MAC-Book, but Im kind of afraid because :

1. I guess i could be considered a Noob when it comes to MAC
    2. Im afraid that if i do get it I wont be able to run all the programs I need like "Visual Studios", and some things that I want like Utorrent and Games.

So here is my question's:

1. Dose MAC ([OS X / Windows] Please Specify) Run all that kind of software?? I know (or Think)that i would need special versions of programs, but could i find everything MAC.

2. I heard that MACs are awesome because they make there OS special for there computers (True/False)? So if i did decide to run windows on it, would it be like running windows on another notebook (not MAC) with the same specs.

3. I've got a PC at home, I wont be able to transfer files from one to the other right?

4. Anything else i should know...

Thanx in advance,

Silo

PS. I know I have more questions, but i forgot them, Ill post as soon as they come back to me.

Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  2. neurokasm

neurokasm Member

1. yes, azureus for osx. there are games for mac, but pc does dominate the game side of things. i cant comment on visual studios though, sorry

2. macs are really good for certain things, it depends on what you want to do with it, as far as running windows on it, it seems to work pretty good for me.

3. yes, you can transfer files from one to the other