1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Made 6 Coasters now! Grrr!

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by bilbosh, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. bilbosh

    bilbosh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried to back up 3 different DVD's now and every time it gets part way through the process fails.

    In DVD Fab Platinum4 the error code reads:

    Task_2 failed! Error=116
    Process Failed


    The same happens if I try DVD Shrink to burn the disks.

    I have done a fresh install of Nero (now Ultra 8 Retail) too, as well as latest verions of DVD Fab & DVD Shrink.

    My blank disks are Ritek (Purple).

    What is happening and how can I solve it?

    Thanks in advance.


    Bilbo.
     
  2. bilbosh

    bilbosh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DVD Fab is set to use VSO Burn btw.


    Bilbosh.
     
  3. rdmercer1

    rdmercer1 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    bilbosh for one thing dvd shrink can't burn, it uses nero to do that, what is the burn speed set at in nero? make sure that you burn at4x and not over8x, you need to check that every now and thain it likes to go to maxium a lot of the times, also you might try this, just save the files from shrinks output, and use, another burning program to do your burning, i use ashampoo to do my burning, also no multitasking when you are doing your burning, also use good media like fuji,verbs,tys, stay away from cheep media like memorex ritek and most unbranded disks, good luck
     
  4. bilbosh

    bilbosh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the update.

    Write speed is 8x I think.

    The disks are actually TDK, not Ritek too.


    One more thing: I made a data DVD which burned perfectly and completed. The problem only seems to come when I try to duplicate DVD movies from my original DVD disks.


    Anything else come to mind now?


    Bilbosh.
     
  5. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I would use dvd-rw until you have figured out the problem.
    At least you can reuse them.
     
  6. tripplite

    tripplite Guest

    that would be most wise.....

    it could be a protection issue, digg out an old dvd and try and copy it, also try anydvd (http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvd.html) it'll copy any disc, it breaks protection codes very easily


    if you are experiencing problems burning with all software, (include direct windows burns)
    then reinstall your drivers (if you wish make a restore point)
    BOOT INTO SAFE MODE (JUST DO IT!!)
    1)Start>My computer> right click >properties
    2)hardware tab
    3)device manager
    4)CD-ROM/DVD drives (names will differ) right click uninstall drive
    5) restart into windows
    6)upon login you will prompted to install new hardware if not go start>control panel> (make sure your in category view, left hand corner box to enable this)> "Printers and other hardware" >left hand corner "Add hardware", not "ADD PRINTER"
    once done you may reboot or not



    what is the version+brand of your drive (if you already listed it am sry but i didn't see it)

    -tripplite
     

Share This Page