1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Magic 3.1 blocking me from playing original games????

Discussion in 'PS2' started by ev99, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. ev99

    ev99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys. ANy help would be greatly appreciated.

    I recently got the Magic 3.1 modchip (direct boot) as I had an old gameshark swap version chip.

    With the old chip I would play for example NHL 2004 no problem.

    Now with the magic chip it gives me a -402 error. I have the original disk though!!!

    I read somewhere I have to boot in normal mode but how do I do that???

    THANKS!!
     
  2. ev99

    ev99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry forgot to mention this is for online play.
     
  3. sobhy2406

    sobhy2406 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thats because your chips on while your on the ps2 internet sony detect your chip and wont let you. You have to turn it off though i think magic 3.1 does not have this feature if it does not have it than you can never play online maybe you got banned too from sony
     
  4. bat4life

    bat4life Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hold The reset button for about 10 seconds, this should turn off your chip and you should be able to play your original games online.
     
  5. pas2mania

    pas2mania Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Um..magic 3.1 does have off feature. The magic 3.1 can play online. It turns off after 5 seconds of the boot of the game. Maybe your chip is a magic 3 which stays on all the time. Or it is a clone. Where did you get your chip from?

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ps2 version 4
    magic 3.1
    sony vaio 2.0 ghz
    532 ddr ram
    70 gigs
    pioneer dvr 104
    ritek and store media[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2004
  6. ev99

    ev99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got it, thanks guys!
     
  7. pimpedout

    pimpedout Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yo man omg im havin the same fkin problem please yo evv how did u get it to work please tell me help would b greatly appreciated
     
  8. sobhy2406

    sobhy2406 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    For origanal online games:Switch off your chip :)-)
    For backup: get swapmagic and fliptop and follow my tutorial in my sig
     
  9. stunn611

    stunn611 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you dont need a flip top to play backups online. a mod chip would work. all you have to do is patched your backups.
     
  10. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Depends on the game - no flip top or mod chip will work with the latest protected games - they plugged the hole in their systems and ban even those using patched games.

    but some games have no built in protection at all - and some servers in some countries i.e. Oz also have no protection checks.

    I personally did not think the 3.1 had the off feature - only the MagicV upwards had it...

    but generally - hold the reset button for 5+ or for 3 seconds longer after the blue light comes on. - you can test to see if it is actually off by inserting a PS2 copied game, then a PS1 copied game - if neither work then the chip is off and you can safely use your originals online.
     

Share This Page