1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Magic 3 vs Magic 3.5 - DVD9???

Discussion in 'PS2' started by freakyg, Dec 19, 2002.

1. freakyg

freakyg Member

I'm trying to figure out what mod chip I should buy. I've come across both the Magic 3 and 3.5 versions and I have no idea if either of these are real chips.

Also, on different sites, these chips are said to support the DVD9 games. I'm new to mods and would really like some honest help.

Please let me know which chip to get, and what place has a good reputation to buy from.

Thank you.

2. hectikkk

hectikkk Member

From my research I think the 3.5 is better as it requires less soldering. But I'm not sure which one is real or fake. I think its the blue chip from www.mod-chip.com or www.modchip.com. It costs $10 more then the magic 3.

I'm looking to purchase a mod chip myself, but I wonder if these places are trustworthy. Has neone bought a chip from these sites? If they have can someone out there respond! Much appreciated. I'm in Australia so its a far way away so they might run away with my money!

3. freakyg

freakyg Member

Yesterday, right after I posted, my friend and I purchased a Magic 3 with the clip for a version 6 PS2. www.modchip.ca They called us 2 hours after the order to confirm that they shipped it already. We received it this morning and begain the install. Good news is we got the chip. Bad news is we destroyed my friends PS2.

If your still looking for a site, www.modchip.ca is very fast and reliable. The magic 3 with che chip clip basicaly mods it to a magic 3.5.

4. BurnChamp

BurnChamp Guest

What store can i get a modchip installed?

5. freakyg

freakyg Member

I'm looking for an installation store somewhere around the NY City area. Let me know if anyone has heard of one.

thanks.

6. Supleh2

Supleh2 Guest