1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

magic3.6 now wtf is wrong!!!

Discussion in 'PS2' started by NeCo, Jun 30, 2003.

  1. NeCo

    NeCo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i installed a magic 3.6 succesfully about 5 months ago and i took my ps2 to a friends house now it doesnt play backups at all. i opened it up and made sure the clip was securely fastened and tested all the points with the light tester and still no luck!! but my ps2 will play originals perfectly. WHAT COULD IT BE!!!???

     
  2. SevenOTwo

    SevenOTwo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check the clip on the bios, and try booting games behing a gameshark, if they work (backups) then that clip is the problem
     
  3. telescope

    telescope Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try checking all the points again
    I am sure it wouyld be the clips not leting u play ur backups
    Cause they suck
    LOL
     
  4. NeCo

    NeCo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah but if all the points ligght up on the tester how could it be the clip
     
  5. CLiPsEmX

    CLiPsEmX Guest

    What game did u try to play? Are u booting the games up write?
     
  6. NeCo

    NeCo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ive tried abuncha my games.... it used to play copies just fine now the bitch will only play originals arrrrg!
     
  7. CLiPsEmX

    CLiPsEmX Guest

    U should throw away the clip and just solder the wires to the bios. See u don't have to use the clip. Unplug the wires from the clip and cut them so u can solder them to the bios. This is a better way since many people had problems usin the clip so they soldered the wires instead.
     
  8. SevenOTwo

    SevenOTwo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    many people got the clip because they cant soldier. it IS the bios clip. will it boot ps1 backups? my messiah 2 only booted ps1 backups, and not ps2 backups, s oi checked all the wires, figures it was the A wire, so check that one too
     
  9. CLiPsEmX

    CLiPsEmX Guest

    U still have to solder wires when installin the magic 3.6.
     
  10. NeCo

    NeCo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for the replys guys but awwwwwww man i hate soldering!!! the the other wires are pretty easy but the bios chips are gonna be a bitch!!
     
  11. NeCo

    NeCo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh yeah and no i cant get it to boot ps2 backups, the hold reset button for 4 seconds doesnt seem to work. although it hardly ever did see m to work. it sucked switching modes
     
  12. telescope

    telescope Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Switch to some other mod
    Thats all wat i can say
    Or give it to someone who is a pro in all thesse modchips
    Tell him ur problem and i am sure he would fine a solution
     
  13. CLiPsEmX

    CLiPsEmX Guest

    Yea send it to a mod chip installation service like xteammods and try to make a deal with them and have them solder ur magic 3.6. They'll probably only charge a small price.
     
  14. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    can you boot backed up ps1 games ?
     
  15. simis69

    simis69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    did you leave it at your friends house like over nite? maybe it got thumped or jard and a conection came loose, or in transit back home??
    you also said you don't like to solder. maybe your install wasn't quite "pro" enough. i would check all conections and check close find the trace for all pionts and check it for continuity. if all that fails take it out see if the ps2 still works maybe the laser got jard?? good luck, i know how frustrating it is
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2003

Share This Page