1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

magickeys 2 and ps2 slim 79001

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by yhelothar, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. yhelothar

    yhelothar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm installing the magickeys 2 set, but I've only put in tool 1 and tool 2 and the disc already spins with the lid open. Is it normal to not need tool 3 with this model PS2?
     
  2. 772154

    772154 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where did you buy the magickeys 2 set and for how much? Were you able to fit in the third piece?

    As I am new here, I am really confused whether magickeys 2 work with SCPH 79001. I bought my PS2 ard 5 days back and its scph 79001a. Is this model different from scph 79001?
     
  3. yhelothar

    yhelothar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got them from modchip.com

    My model is 79001 CB (the CB was only printed on the box it came in)

    I still haven't put in the third piece and backups are working great. I'm confused but oh well.
     
  4. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    Im not sure but I decided to say the hell with it and I just took my silver slim 70091 apart even tho I wasnt going to and I noticed that the entire insides are way different than my 77001. I think that the third may come in hand for the 77001. Its kinda hard to explain the details but one of the pins is in a different spot. On the 77001 it sits up to the top left of were the laser rests when off and on the 79001 it seems to be along the laser for some reason.

    I dont know what that does but like I said Im not positive on this one.

    I also noticed that on the 79001 the ghost case may not fit. I didnt install it all the way but it didnt line up correctly with the bottom of the silver PS2. I put the ghost cases top back to the side and noticed that it fits the bottom of the 77001 perfectly. This could suck! I just went off ranting that people should just buy a ghost case......OOOOPS!
     
  5. 772154

    772154 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    @yhelothar

    Thanks for the info. I think CB refers to the color "charcoal black". The box for my PS2 says SCPH 79001 CB/ 97701.
    I checked under my PS2. The model no. printed there is 79001a. So I guess its the same model as your PS2.

    You are lucky that you only had to put 2 pieces. My only concern: will the third piece fit in?

    which site did you refer to before buying magickeys 2?
     
  6. yhelothar

    yhelothar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Mine just says 79001 on the bottom of the case, there's no 'a' suffix; I doubt there's a difference but it wouldn't hurt to be wary. If you want to test if you need a third piece just open your lid and push a toothpick or something into the reset switch hole in the bottom right corner and hold back the disc stop that the second piece is for. If you can get the disc spinning while doing this with the lid open then you don't need the third tool. Heck, you could probably rig up your own magickeys and save some money.

    And actually I referred to these forums before purchasing (although everyone says modchip.com is a scam for some reason).
     
  7. 772154

    772154 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That was a great idea. It really does work. :) Thanks...
    Can you close the lid with magickeys 2 installed?
     
  8. bmillion

    bmillion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so, does this mean tool 1 and tool 2 will work with SCPH-79001? I just bought a silver satin ps2 like a day ago, but i dont know which magic keys to get...so confusing :(
     
  9. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    Ok Im not to keen on magic keys but is tool 1 for the sensor near the poewr button and tool 2 for the one with the disc break?

    If so then yes. I took my silver apart and found that it has no sensor to the upper left of the laser area. That in mind I would assume you wouldnt need it.
     
  10. ph33rzie

    ph33rzie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm with my 79001 I HAD to have the 3rd key in for the disc to spin, maybe yours is different I guess, but hell if it loads backups without the 3rd key I wouldn't be to concerned lol

    and Delmorte: That is exactly the way the keys are numbered
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2008
  11. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    I don't use magic keys. I use sticky tack but I only use it to hold the disc brake in and the sensor on the power switch board.


    I pop in swap magic, let it boot and then when it stops I open it up and put in the back up and "BAM!" after I hit the X button its said and done.

    Also if the disc brake is in far enough the disc spins while the lid is open. depending on the disc it sometimes gets sketchy and the disc gets all squirrelly in the bay but it still spins.

    Go ahead, take the 79001 apart. You will see that it don't have the switch for the sensor like the others do on the top left.
     
  12. schnazz1

    schnazz1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone. I just bought a silver 79001, rolled up a small piece of toilet paper, jammed it in the front right hole and THAT'S IT. Swap Magic 3.8 works perfectly. Other than the "TP fix", no other mod needed. If you use a small enough ball of TP and make sure it doesn't stick too far out of the hole, then the lid closes perfectly too! WOW! Makes me regret buying Swap Magic Tools!
     
  13. danny1988

    danny1988 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a similar 79002 (Australia) PS2. Managed to get it working with the Magickeys set (missing the disc brake one). It's sort of working 70% so I need to fix a few things, but other than that it works fine.
     
  14. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    Holy christ, the tools are dirt cheap. Are you that broke?


    I mean I dont use the tools but I wouldnt complain.
     
  15. schnazz1

    schnazz1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ha -- good point. However, if I had to choose between:

    a) going online, ordering the Tools, waiting for the tools, figuring out how to install them (the directions I received with the Tools conflicted with the actual pieces I received), and then hoping they work; or

    b) rolling up a 1-cm piece of toilet paper and putting it into the lid cover lock hole,

    I'd choose "b" every time! :)
     
  16. irkalla

    irkalla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so im guessing i need the magickeys and swap magic for my region right?
     
  17. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Don't know, where are you from, what PS2 do you have.
    Is this your first post. You need to type a little more info in when asking a question.
    And if your looking to play backups, then yes you need Swap Magic, depending upon what version PS2 you have depends upon what tools to get and which ones to use.
    This picture here shows which versions need what parts.
    This is using Swap Tool Pro V2
     
  18. CoGOD

    CoGOD Guest

    Okay...so im new....just joined...i've been lurking these forums whenever i had ps2 problems and it always seemed to help me.

    Anyways i had the original SCPH 70012, i had Magic key 1 near the reset button and black electrical tape near the laser switch

    I was using 3.8 CODER since last march...anyway the the laser stopped moving and it stays in place, so i bought a new one.

    I bought SCPH 79001, while looking through this topic im seeing that you dont need the key for the laser...

    Well i used the old key from Magic Keys 2 and put in the front hole near the eject button and then i used a rolled up piece of paper and shifted it where the disc break should be but it's not working.

    Any clarification....i really dont want to open it up after i've just bought does anyone have a picture of the inside of a 79001? is it true that key 3 is irrelevent?
     
  19. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have opened mine up plenty of times!!!! You don't need it and I can post a pic for everyone that disbelievers it!!!

    This is the best cheap way to do it. Go out and get some sticky tack from wal-Mart or something ( it holds stuff together ) and roll a bit into a ball the stuff it down in the sensor behind the power button under the lid. Then roll another ball up and press the disc brake in all the way and hold it in while stuffing the second ball into the hole. In this spot you might want to load it in but make sure its a firm hold. Once you open and close the lid a few times it will get in and hold well.

    I gurantee that you dont have the sensors all the way down.
     
  20. CoGOD

    CoGOD Guest

    I believe you...can you post a pic though?

    Im using key 1 from magic keys to press down the one near the power button but i dont know if its working...as for the one near the disc brake i have a piece of paper there...im guessing thats not enough?

    Perhaps my version is different? i mean i just bought it yesterday....so who knows...but i take your word for it.
     

Share This Page