1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

major xbox 360 problem

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by karan6888, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi i got an xbox 360 a couple of months back and i modded the toshiba samsung drive. now i have 3 red lights flashing with an error code 0003. when i power it up the fans spin for 2 seconds and then stop. the gpu and cpu look good they are not burnt i guess. i cant send my console to xbox too as i upened it up and modded the drive too. plus i ran my xbox for a long time without a cover and a fan blowing air every time the xbox was on. so no heating issues at all.
    What do i do now just get a new 360 ???
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry if there was any misunderstanding but the 360 was flashed as soon as i got it and it worked properly for 2 months...
     
  4. monkijin

    monkijin Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    could be a bad power supply with that error code.
     
  5. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cant be the power supply i tried with 2 different units same problem
     
  6. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    please help
     
  7. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if i get a new 360 can i swap the dvd drive from my old one even if it is not the same brand??
    please help ...
     
  8. hack01

    hack01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think your drive is tied to your motherbard as to they are programed to work w/eachother. My sugestion to you is if your going to swap out the drive you might as well swap out the whole inside. Al least you get a new 360 all together.
     
  9. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    but my modded 360 does not work... that is why i want to take my old 360 drive and put it in the new one...
     
  10. hack01

    hack01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    But you modded the drive. The motherboard has nothing to do w/modding. Hopefuly you can get a xbox 360 w/a Benq drive inside it. They are flashable now . The 79's are the ones you got to look for since they are not flashable yet. I called mine in to M$ yesterday for the 3ROD and going to send it back for repairs. I hear alot of people either get their sameone back fixed or the get a refurbished one. Either way you get one working.
     
  11. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What i am trying to say is that i dont know how to mod the drive nor do i have the equipment to do it. one of my friend did the mod for me. so i was just wondering if in the new 360 i could put my old drive in and that the the new 360 with the old drive would work ok ???
     
  12. hack01

    hack01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    NO sorry the drive is whats flashed. If you get a new drive it would have to be flashed as well so you would be starting from scrach. hats why I sugested that if you are going to do the swap just get the whole inside unit. Here is the link below that showes you how to flash the New Beng drive that come w/the 360 now. You cant get the old samsung or toshibe drive anymore. Hope this helps you out. You will need a SATA connection card if you dont have one. I find them for about $20 on the net(ebay or newegg)

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/579442#3507789
     
  13. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am sorry i still dont understand i think i am dumb. so it will not be possible to put my old drive into the new 360 and make it work right ??
     
  14. hack01

    hack01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no sorry. Just replace the whole inside unit and start over on the modding the xbox 360.

    So your options is either go to the store and swap the inside out or send it back to microsoft for repairs witch will take 3-4weeks.
     
  15. yzrider22

    yzrider22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can't you just get the key from the New drive and swap keys from the modded drive.Put the new drivekey number on the old modded drive.
     
  16. xbubbax

    xbubbax Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok...

    you can try the AWESOME TOWEL trick for shits and giggles....look it up on youtube if not sure what i mean...if that doesnt work....

    ..try reflashing the drive with the correct firmware, if you dont have the original firmware, or it backed up...then you fucked.....you dont have the drivekey backed up to reflash onto the new xbox dvd romdrive.....

    the only thing you can do is replace the mobo and dvd rom....which is stupid....or just go buy another one....you cant do anything unless you have your xbox 360 dvd rom drive key to reflash on to your new xbox 360 dvd rom....

    good luck
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  17. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i cannot send the 360 to microsoft and i dont want to. i just want to get a new 360 and put my old drive in it.
     
  18. hack01

    hack01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well buy another and do the whole inside swap thats the only way to go and going to work again since you dont want to send it in to M$
     
  19. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so if i just open up the new 360 and put my old drive in it should work right ???
     
  20. xbubbax

    xbubbax Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well you cant just buy a new 360 and put your hacked drive in it without having the hacked drives key....

    why would you buy a new 360, take all the parts out of your old 360, just to use your old case??? thats redundant

    you dont have the drive key for your "bricked" 360 then your screwed....you need to have the drive key in order to flash it onto your new drive then your SOL!

    just flash your new 360 with the firmware....and your back in bisness....im sure theres a bunch of tutorials somewhere

    ::hint hint look at top of forums page::wink wink::
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  21. karan6888

    karan6888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what is a drive key ???
     

Share This Page