1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mameos128 plus problem.... cant play any games.

Discussion in 'Xbox - Software discussion' started by ja835, Apr 27, 2007.

1. ja835

ja835 Member

Hi can someone help me with getting the games to work. I keep getting an error message, tes3verb.2 and so on down in a lie. I keep my roms in the roms folder. I don't know if I'm using the right mame roms or not I'm a total noob with this stuf.

Thanks in advance.

2. locobrown

locobrown Regular member

Mame emulators on xbox use an older version checksum and file format. Mameox is a PC port from Mame32. Roms are extracted from their game boards and formatted differently each and every time. I don’t know why but I have always disliked this. I have a huge library of mame roms but I can’t play them on my xbox only on Mame32. The developers don’t preserve older rom headers file names and extentions nor does Mameox emulate new ones. As mame gets updated so do the file format and extensions of it. It would be great if a mameox build existed that supported old and new file extensions and formats but since Microsoft currently has a hold and is against mame development ports on xbox I doubt it’ll happen. Buy yourself a gamepad and play them on your pc that is your best bet.

Last edited: Apr 27, 2007
  3. ja835

ja835 Member

Thanks... Yah that sucks. Oh well.

4. Burnasty

Burnasty Regular member

I don't know what games you are trying to play but you may want to look into final burn alpha (fba). Mame is never updated but fba is. I use both but I think fba is better. It is mainly for neogeo, cps1 & 2. You can get it from xbins.

5. ja835

ja835 Member

I'm not much of a mame buff, but if I could get one working... its a start. I don't know what cp1 and cp2 are but I'll look to see if I have any.