1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

matrix infinity pstwo

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by insanecon, Jan 8, 2005.

  1. insanecon

    insanecon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a matrix infinty modchip 1.38 for my pstwo...
    i pressed triangle and circle and changed a few settings...
    i had also pressed start and received the disabled message....
    but now whenever i load up my ps2..all i see is a black screen....on pressing reset i get the sony entertainment blue thing.....and then goes to please insert a laystation or playstation2 format disc red screen...
    even if i load original cds
    i can still aceess the config menu by pressin tringle + circle....
    but cant disable the modchip
    what should i do!!!
     
  2. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you disable the infinity, it will stay disabled until you put it in standby mode. since you only pressed reset, the modchip is still disabled, hense it won't be able to boot copied games.

    did you mean to say you can't enable the modchip? i don't know if you're able to put a PSTwo into standby, so just unplug it for like 30 seconds, plug it back in, and everything should be fine, you'll even keep your original settings.

    by the way there's the v1.39 firmware available at the matrix website. http://www.infinitymod.com/cgi-bin/matrix/site.pl?page=infinity_software if you're unsure how to install the firmware, just read the instructions, everything is included in the zip file.
     
  3. insanecon

    insanecon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ive left it unplugged for a day with no luck
     
  4. getzxxx

    getzxxx Guest

    I've got the exact problem. I got 2 Slim PS2's that I just got modded with matrix infinity. The PS2 boots with the chip disabled basically. I did the same thing as the original poster did. Went into config menu with Triangle + Circle changed settings and then thats where it screwed up. I started off with firmware 1.38 on the first one and the second one had 1.39 and now they both behave the same...
     
  5. insanecon

    insanecon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    please someone...
    find a fix...
    and fast....
    coz it doesnt belong to me and i dunno how 2 fix it now
     
  6. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try to upgrade the firmware, that might reset the corrupted memory or something. In order to do this you need a CD burner.

    -Go to http://www.infinitymod.com/matrix/files/downloads/InfinityFW139.zip It will prompt you to download a zip file. If you aren't running Windows XP, or if you don't have WinZip, you can download it here: http://www.download.com/3405-20-960683.html

    -When you open the zip file, you'll see three files:
    -infv139.bin
    -infv139.cue
    -readmeV139.txt

    -Thoroughly read readmeV139.txt it has everything you need to know. If you have further questions ask us, or email the matrix team at: info@infinitymod.com They are extremely helpful and give fast replies.
     
  7. insanecon

    insanecon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    tried both of them..
    upgrade cd shows red pls insert playstation or playstation 2 format disc...
    written to the email address 24 hours back..no answer yet
     
  8. darkness9

    darkness9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    insanecon and getzxxx, I am presently in touch with the developer from infinity and they are trying to help me troubleshoot the problem (I'm facing the exact same problems as you are).

    I'm replicating the email exchange that we are having in its entirety here. Pls feedback if you guys are using premodded PS2 and if you guys can confirm or furnish pictures of the modchip you are using to confirm if they are genuine infinity chips.


    ****************** CUT AND PASTE *****************
    Hi,

    All the behaviour you are reporting is not normal at all. Also, as I was
    reading your e-mail I noticed the "Premodded" word.
    There are people selling Fake "Modbo" or "NH9" chips that do show the
    Infinity Logo at PS2 boot up, bit won't work at all...

    Now, first thing to clear is IF you really have an Infinity inside.
    Eventually I would like to know if also the other two people that are
    facing this issue bought a premodded PSTWO or installed the Infinity
    by themself, or saw the chip inside the PSTWO.
    A picture of one of these infinity could also help me to identify the
    batch production number and to who was sold.


    Considering the amount of material we ship dayly to installers, if there
    was indeed a problem in the setings change that crashes the Firmware of
    the chip (and I relly do not see any logical reason on why this should
    happen), I would have been summersed by e-mail from the installers.

    I am not excluding the possibility, but I really can't see a logic in
    this issue.
    I have anyhow asked the dev team as well as two different Betatesters to
    test this problem exactly like you reported.

    Let me ask you another thing.
    Did you try the "Force Upgrade mode"?
    ------------------------
    Put Upgrade CD into PS2 and put PS2 into standby.
    Press "reset button" and keep pressed until blue light turn ON (on V1-V11).
    (For the V12 press reset button from standby for 2-3 seconds as there is
    no blue light).
    Leave "reset button" and Upgrade CD will boot.
    Follow on-screen instructions to complete the Upgrade procedures.
    ------------------------

    If not, please do try it and let me know the result.


    Best Regards,
    The Matrix Team
    Luke

    www.matrix-mod.com
    www.infinitymod.com
    -------------------






    > Hi Luke,
    >
    > Really appreciate your speedy reply. Just to confirm, I believe the
    > problem
    > does not lie with disabling the Infinity, but rather, the very plain fact
    > that I went into configuration menu, made some changes (changes the screen
    > fix from "Color" to "Off") and press "Start" to save. (It seems that the
    > other 2 posters did exactly that). I'm guessing that somehow when the
    > configuration was changed and saved, it is "not compatible" with v12 PS2??
    >
    > Also, when the set is in standby mode (reset light at red), when it's
    > turned
    > on for the first time (change to green), the screen will be blank (as what
    > the other 2 posters experiences as well), but when you press reset again
    > in
    > this state, the blue colour sony screen comes on but will be unable to
    > boot
    > up any games.
    >
    > The configuration menu can be accessed if the PS2 is in standby mode and
    > pressing triangle + circle and turning it on, but it cannot be accessed if
    > it's already on (green light) and pressing triangle + circle + reset. Not
    > too sure if this is the correct behaviour.
    >
    > Also, pls advise:
    >
    > 1) How to I confirm if it's blue dot infinity? My set came pre-modded when
    > I
    > bought it.
    > 2) Try changing these 2 settings, but no avail, it's still the same
    > behaviour.
    >
    > Also, I'm unable to flash the firmware, as the set "hangs" upon the first
    > boot up and unable to read the firmware CD that I burnt (as explained in
    > my
    > previous paragraph). If I reset the same time, it will gimme the "insert
    > Playstation format disc" message.
    >
    > I will most likely take my set back to the shop which I bought from for an
    > exchange, but I believe this is not an isolated incident becoz the first
    > set
    > the guy took out to demo to me before I bought had the same problems as
    > well. It seems like this is only restricted to v12 sets (??).
    >
    > Hope to hear from you soon with good news!
    >
    > Regards,
    > Gee.
    >
    >
    > ----- Original Message -----
    > From: <info@infinitymod.com>
    > Sent: Thursday, January 13, 2005 4:45 AM
    > Subject: Re: Matrix Infinity Problem with v12 PStwos
    >
    >
    > Hi,
    >
    > Sorry, I read it a couple of time but just to confirm.....
    >
    > You disabled the Infinity and you are not able to turn it on anymore?
    > And anyhow you are able to enter configuration menu?
    >
    >
    > Please do this test:
    >
    > 1) Be sure you have a BLUE DOT Infinity!
    > 2) Enter configuration menu, Select: "Green Fix=OFF" and "ATAD Patch=OFF".
    > 3) Save settings and test if something change.
    >
    > If this not work than:
    > 1) Download firmware V1.21 from here:
    > http://infinitymod.com/matrix/files/downloads/InfinityManagerV1_21_00.zip
    >
    > 2) Downgrade the Infinity to V1.21 and let me know what happens.
    > DO NOT DO THIS WITH A YELLOW DOT INFINITY!!
    >
    >
    >
    > Best Regards,
    > The Matrix Team
    > Luke.
    >
    > www.matrix-mod.com
    > www.infinitymod.com
    > -------------------
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >> Hi,
    >>
    >> I'm facing the exact same problem as these 2 posters mentioned in this
    >> thread:
    >>
    >> http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/144974
    >>
    >> Wondering if you guys have a v12 PStwo to try out the problem? I'm sure
    >> if
    >> 3 persons with 4 sets experiences the same problem, it would be
    >> repeatable
    >> over at your side as well. Hope to hear from you soon as my PStwo is now
    >> just an expensive paperweight... ;-)
    >>
    >> Regards,
    >> Gee.
    >
    >
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2005
  9. insanecon

    insanecon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry wish i cud help you but i exchanged it for a new one..and dont want to change any stuff as it doesnt belong to me.i personally think that the problem would be of the PREMODDED consoles as of such and have fake infinty's maybe.
    Maybe this is how fake infinity's function.
    Because o got my console pretty cheap
     
  10. gorec9897

    gorec9897 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    -
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2005
  11. Rahul84

    Rahul84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Even i have the same problem with my Slim psTwo , isnt there a way to fix this , has anybody got any way to just reset the whole damn thing ...........waiting impatiently for a reply
     
  12. 8000

    8000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Mine failed after changing the config, apparently mine has a Modbo V1.1 mod (but says Infinity 1.38 when loading, before it broke). For those people with this problem, you might want to remove the fake mod and get a real Infinity installed. Also, go find the guy who sold you junk and break his legs. In fact you can ask him to replace with a real Infinity mod so he won't need a wheelchair, then everyone is happy.
     
  13. REMANYST

    REMANYST Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also have this problem after exiting the configuration screen. BTW how can u tell if its the real chip or not.
     
  14. 8000

    8000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well if you have this problem you have a fake. Otherwise you have to look at the board or wait for the Matrix Team to release their CD that you can boot from to tell you real or fake. Look at how those fake pricks have ripped off the Infinity:

    The real Matrix Infinity:
    http://www.infinitymod.com/matrix/files/chips/Matrix Infinity/V12/Japan-Taiwan-V12.JPG

    Fake cheap rip off crap:
    http://www.modbo.com/img/Japan-Taiwan-V12.jpg

    Geeeezzz!!!!!!!!!!!

    Might take a bus up to China and hunt those guys down...

    Anyway you can see how different those boards look, but have the exact same solder points (yes they just rip off the jpeg and all the instructions as well, lazy greedy money grubbing bastards). Also, on the Infinity site there are photos of fakes of the Matrix MXL2 which look at first glance to be identical to the real thing (even sandpapering a chip surface and reprinting false make and model info on top).

    I'm about ready to buy a real Infinity board from someone, and a soldering iron, etc. and replace the thing myself... since all the wires are already connected to the PS2 board, hopefully can desolder them from the fake mod and then straight onto the real one without even touching the PS2 board. If I wanted to waste time I wouldn't have bought a premodded one, but oh well...
     
  15. gorec9897

    gorec9897 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well its a clone of the matrix homebew; I dont think it has any flash memory and the function changes are not listed on there tutorial on there website -

    http://modbo.com/faq.htm

    [bold]specs/features on modbo:[/bold]

    http://modbo.com/home.htm

    [bold]specs/features on matrix homebrew:[/bold]

    http://www.infinitymod.com/cgi-bin/matrix/site.pl?page=chip_infinityhb

    if you know your chip is a modbo dont treat it like a matrix. follow only the instructions for the modbo from the modbo webpage or modbo team.

    just because it says matrix v1.38 on boot (someone mentioned that) it doesnt mean its ok to use the flash upgrades and all the features of the real matrix.

    I got my matrix infinity about 1yr ago for about 50$, for people that are cheap the modbo is only 20$ and still the matrix chips are around 40$.

    that last post here was erased since luke mentioned some of the stuff I was going to write in the post but I posted before I read all of the posts :/

    you could see if there is anyway to reflash the chip with the v1.38 update; try swap magic to boot the cd-r

    for those of you who purchased a matrix and got a modbo, you should write to the people who sold you the chip or premodified the unit. that really sucks when people lie and sell clones as real chips. one way to find out is to open the unit and take a look at the chip. if you ordered the chip and it doesnt look like the real matrix send it back and get your money back or tell them to give you what you paid for (it says modbo on the chip, at least on the there webpage picture of the chip)
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2005
  16. Rahul84

    Rahul84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah i just checked that i have a fake modbo modchip , so i just trashed it & got mahself a real mesiah 3 modchip
     
  17. 8000

    8000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So the FIX to this problem is REMOVE the crap mod and install a real one. Matrix Infinity is a good board, and one or two others on the market are also good depending on your taste. Just avoid NH9 and Modbo and any other fake junk!

    Look for the CD that the Matrix Team will release to quickly tell you if the console has a real Infinity or not.

    --------
    PSTwo PS2 v12 70000 70k modchip problem NH9 Modbo v1.1 Black screen Red screen insert disc config Configuration screen change PAL NTSC COLOR fake Matrix Infinity 1.38 Infinity 1.39
    --------
     
  18. fobmaster

    fobmaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also realized I have the modbo chip in my slim PS2, which I bought 2 weeks ago. I bought the console pre-modded and at the time, I had no idea what was a good mod-chip. Being ignorant, I didn't ask questions.

    I was able to back-up some PS2 games, including GTA:sa and MGS3, and they worked with success. Is there anything I should be watching out for? I figured.. ok.. even if it IS a clone or fake, it's still doing its job as a mod-chip.

    Would someone like to shed some light on this?
     
  19. fobmaster

    fobmaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    And BTW, I never did get the Matrix Infinity screen. It just boots up as normal.
     
  20. gorec9897

    gorec9897 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just use the chip as directed by modbo and you should be fine ;-)
     

Share This Page