1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maybe stupid VOB question, not sure...

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by chiefnet, Dec 27, 2002.

1. chiefnet

chiefnet Member

I'm a newbie, and I keep reading to rip the DVD, and then pick the VOB file. I can't find anywhere saying which VOB file to pick when there's multiples, and being able to tell which one is the right onw. I just ripped Minority Report and there are I think 4 VOB files. They are all the same size. I'm not sure which one is the right one. How can you tell which VOB file is the right one, and are all of them needed? Thanks in advance.

2. framerman

framerman Regular member

First off, do you want the menus also? The files you will need for a complete movie are roughly this

VIDEO_TS.BUP
    VIDEO_TS.IFO
    VIDEO_TS.VOB
    VTS_01_0.BUP
    VTS_01_0.IFO
    VTS_01_0.VOB
    VTS_01_1.VOB
    VTS_01_2.VOB etc.

Your VTS_01_1,2,3 etc. is your main movie file. This is very easy to figure out in dvd decrypter and smartripper. Both programs usually figure it out for you. Now there are a few movies that put widescreen and standard on the same disc. You have to open these up in PowerDVD to know which one you want. You must have ripped the four main movie files if they are the same size. They should all be about 1GB apiece, correct?

3. omegaboy

omegaboy Guest

but... some dvd titles has 2 kind of features, wide screen and fullscreen. For example Ice age has those 2 features. But anyway, if you going to use Ifoedit later after ripping your DVD's vobfiles, use version 091 (Ifoedit v091) instead of version 95 (Ifoedit v095. Because when using "Vobs-Extra", version 095 (Ifoedit v095) doesn't create a new video_ts.ifo and we need that file to make a complete DVD.

4. chiefnet

chiefnet Member

Thank you framerman and omegaboy. Framerman,
    VTS_01_0.VOB
    VTS_01_1.VOB