1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.mdf vs. .mds??? help please.

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by munky792, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have two images for my ps2 game; dark cloud 2.mdf (4.13GB) and dark cloud 2.mds (5KB)... which do i patch (for NTSC-PAL conversion) and which do i burn? do i burn both on the dvd? does DVD decryptor work with this? thank you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2005
  2. RemyK313

    RemyK313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't think DVD Decrypter reads mdf files. MDF files are for alcohol, so use Alcohol to burn the game.

    As for patching, I have absolutely no clue on that. But if you're using Swap Magic, I'm pretty sure that Swap Magic will automatically fix that for you.
     
  3. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i can convert the .mdf file to .iso using magiciso.. but im worried about the .mds, should i just ignore it?
     
  4. phuc

    phuc Guest

    i use dvd decryter to burn the .mds file but never tried .dmf file.
     
  5. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    like i said in your OTHER thread...you burn it,it may be small.....but dont worry,it should work
     
  6. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Burn the .mds file using DVD Decrypter.

    PS2 PAL TO NTSC PATCHER WITH Y-FIX V1.05 BETA can only patch .iso or .bin files. I tried before to convert a .mdf to .iso and patch and it didn't work, the game didn't boot.

    What I had to do was burn the .mds using DVD Decrypter and then make an iso of the dvd-r, then patch that .iso and re-burn.
     
  7. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ^thanks.

    well i tried it your way and burned the .mds with decrypter, but my ps2 will not recognize the DVD.. all i get is the ps2 configuration screen when i put in my burned copy.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2005
  8. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok i tried to read my burned copy and create a .iso file but decrypter says the dvd is empty??
     
  9. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try changing the settings to their default values. Go to Tools-->Settings... and click Defaults at the bottom.

    Then, try reburning.
     
  10. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    done that, still same problem. :( this is my 5th DVD i had to go through... also when i put in the copy it makes whistle/scratching noises as if the ps2 is having a hard time to read the dvd.
     
  11. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1)Is your ps2 modded?
    2)Are you burning at 1x?
    3)Are you using high quality media (TDK, Verbatim)?
    4)Does your laser need a cleaning?

    Sometimes, I will get a Disc Read Error. What I do is what an hour or so and try again, and it works.
     
  12. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1. my ps is modded
    2. i am burning @ 1x
    3. i use sony dvd-r
    4. well it reads other backups i buy from the store just fine

    i get the disk error sometimes too, but the red screen pops up that says invalid ps2 disk or something along those lines. with my burned dvds it doesn't even recognize them and goes to the configuration screen as if the ps2 is empty.

     
  13. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  14. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try using Alcohol 120%.
     
  15. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok ill give it a try and report back lol (i really appreciate your efforts to help me out). im just really frustrated because i seem to do everything right and wasted so much money already.
     
  16. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i tried burning with alcohol and the DVD still doesn't boot and makes the same strange noises.
     
  17. munky792

    munky792 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    im guessing its a media problem. on the dvd package it does say its from china and i do live in a 3rd world country where everything is basically pirated.
     
  18. b14b14

    b14b14 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I undertsood the part about burn the .mds with dvd decrypter, make an iso of that dvd..but then you lost me.. how do u patch that iso to reburn?
     

Share This Page