1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MDS or ISO loaded on a PS2 HD Make a difference?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by smcrzyguy, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. smcrzyguy

    smcrzyguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    After I extract a Ps2 game with decrypter, Does it matter that I delete the MDS file and load just the ISO on my PS2 HD using WINHIIP? I have noticed that a game still plays when this is done, but im wondering if doing this will ever have any bad affects on future extracts or on the ones ive already done? What is the MDS for anyway?
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    the mds file is mainly just for people with computer harddrives running fat32.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    V9 PS2, flip top, SMD, DVDLoader
    Pioneer 107, ritek g04
    DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, Nero[/small]
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  3. smcrzyguy

    smcrzyguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does it matter that I delete the MDS for when I burn the game on a DVD-R or when I create another image on a FAT32 Drive? Basically, do I even need the MDS for a FAT32 HD?
    THANKs
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    fat32 drives cannot support images over 4gigs. So, 2 images are made and the .mds file links them together.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    V9 PS2, flip top, SMD, DVDLoader
    Pioneer 107, ritek g04
    DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, Nero[/small]
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004

Share This Page