1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

media for PS2 back-ups

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by gavin_55, Jan 27, 2003.

  1. gavin_55

    gavin_55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can anybody recommend any blank media for PS2 back-ups. (cheaper the better). If it matters or not i have a V7 PAL ps2 with a messiah 2 mod-chip and a pioneer 105.
    Could you also leave a website where i can purchase these dvd's from please.
    Thanks
     
  2. jr_

    jr_ Guest

    I think that's the question everyone has. And there is no clear answer.
    All I know so far is that Memorex is better than Maxell. I had a copy of GTA VC and was getting disk read errors. I copied the copy from a Maxell to a Memorex and the read errors disappeared. So this clearly shows the problem was not bad data just the reflectivity difference between these 2 brands. The Memorex is just slightly higher in price.
    I am going to order some Verbatims and see how they do.
    The reflectivity somewhat goes with the price of the media. Although there has to be some variation with batches.

    If the game uses streaming data like GTA use good media. If it reads all into memory then you can get a cheaper brand.

    The best cheap brand may be Fuji Film. I don't know that first hand. Someone said these were the only ones that worked in his PS2.
     
  3. gavin_55

    gavin_55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks alot m8. sorry to have asked the same question as other people but as you may have already noticed i'm a newbie to this.
    can you please keep me/us updated on your success with other media please.
    Thank you for co-operation
     
  4. rubberman

    rubberman Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Verbatim and Ritek G03 dvd-rs work in the PS2.
     
  5. gavin_55

    gavin_55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i just bought some ritek ones and they play my copied ps2 games fine. thanks alot guys.
    you saved me alot of moeny. i only spent about £15 for a trial pack and still waiting to recieve them.
     
  6. probsey

    probsey Guest

    I have a vivastar 1x copier and use the latest recordnow max to copy on to bulkpaq lilacs. I have had no problems with burning PS2 backups at all.. I get the discs for £17 for 25.
     
  7. ora

    ora Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello, i use vivastar silver top, cheap and cheerful.a05 pioneer, ps2 with same chip as yourself. no problems.nero to burn.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2003
  8. riksworld

    riksworld Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use datawrite, they have been perfect so far, touchwood.
     
  9. pjclark1

    pjclark1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    for games of 3gig and less
    gen 3 purple bulkcrap work fine
    45p each from svp
     
  10. Haas5615

    Haas5615 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What about DVDPro grade A dvd-r media for Ps2? Anybody know if it works well for bac-up games and movies? What about Optodisc? Accu?

    Does any of the media i have listed use Ritek dye? I have heard dvd-r with ritek dye is good for ps2. Any inof would be great.

    Thanks
     
  11. kdavid

    kdavid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have been backing up PS2 games for a while. I used to use the cheapest discs around and they worked fine. When GTA VC came out I tried to back it up & it wouldn't work. From then I have used Pioneer DVD-Rs

    If GTA VC works, then the discs you are using are fine. It is the only game that has ever given me any trouble.
     
  12. haxxej

    haxxej Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey kdavid u said gta vc worked on a pioneer?...i burned it on 1 of them and it loads the intro but then get stuck just @ d end of d loading screen...
    could it be i'm doing something wrong in my burning?
     
  13. jr_

    jr_ Guest

    It's a combination of the media, the PS2 and the modchip.
    It's not a simple answer.
    I am guessing you have a Magic 3.0
    Am I correct?
     
  14. gavin_55

    gavin_55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i had the same problem with GTA vice city. i found out that it was the media i was using.
    i have a messiah 2 pro mod chip and i use a pioneer 105 to copy them.
    i've juts bought a trial pack of media and i'll let you all know my opinion on them very soon.
    i have also found out that the bulgpaq eneration 4 only r very good dvd-r's. i have not had 1 problem with them so far. i would say they r just as good as the ritek silvers. i have not tried any others yet.
     
  15. haxxej

    haxxej Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    erm i don't know what kind of modchip i have...i made it about 1 1/2 yrs ago & @ that time i wouldn't give a shit about it as long as i had a chip in it....

    but i can tell u now that finally d same copies i had made and that i tought were faulty now r working...

    i did a little different booting procedure than usual....now either it is this that made them work or my ps2 laser is beginning to get f&cked!!
     
  16. zmz

    zmz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The best mid-range DVD-R media is Samsung BeAll DVD-R v2.0. It has been tested 100% compatible with ps2 and xbox. Princo also works on PS2 and Xbox, but the qualities are questionable. You will get some defective disc.
     
  17. kennyg_uk

    kennyg_uk Guest

    my Vice City backup is on Memorex and I get disk read errors all the time!

     
  18. boyland

    boyland Guest

    personally speaking id use superior 2x
    £1-60 each from distech at bowlers

    if you dont know where bowlers is or who distech are
    email me

    and ill tell u
    if i can
    i a=havent read the rules properly so i may be in the wrong
     
  19. jr_

    jr_ Guest

    PS2's vary in their capablilities to read DVD-R' or +Rs Memorex works fine for me but disk reflectivity will vary with each batch made, even with same brand. I will go out on a limb here and say that if you get DRE's with Verbatim's you will probably get them with all of them. It is generally agreed that Verbatim's reflectivity is about as good as it gets.

    Try cleaning the laser lens.
    I can post instructions if anyone is interested.

    Also the DREs and Freezes are seperate but related issues with Magic 3.0 mod chips. If you are getting Stuck (repeating Audio) and screen freeze's changing your 3.0 to a 3.1 will probably fix it. It did for me. The continuous injection of the boot code while the PS2 is having the slightist problem trying to read a disk while still trying to run the game will cause the lockup. That is why games like VC are so problematic. Games that stop the action to read the disk are more forgiving.

    If you only get DRE's not freeze problems then the Mod chip is probably not involved. If you have a Magic 3.1(for sure) or a Messiah 2 then the Mod chip is probably not involved.




     
  20. zmz

    zmz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wrong mistake. Princo dvd-r do not work on xbox.
     

Share This Page