1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mem card exploit

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by witton, Oct 30, 2004.

  1. witton

    witton Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    does anyone know how to get the mem card exploit on swapmagicfix site to work,i follow the instructions perfectly and it works up until the point of opening the titleman.db file i get an error reading "unable to open title.db for writing no such file or directory.
    i extracted the file to the c:\ drive and in command prompt i type c:\titleman -axxxx_xxx.xx and enter.
    please help...
     
  2. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it should be "titleman -a xxxx_xxx.xx" note the space after the "a"
     
  3. witton

    witton Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for reply but still same with space.
     
  4. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sounds like you not a dos man :) .. try this

    extract the two files (titleman and title) into a folder called "temp" on your desktop (right click on the desktop and create a folder and name it 'temp') then open the command prompt and type "cd desktop" and hit enter ,then type "cd temp" and hit enter then type "titleman -a xxxx_xxx.xx" and hit enter (i'm sure you know the "x"'s should be replaced by SLES/SLUS/SCES/SCUS ect and then numbers) goood luck
     
  5. witton

    witton Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    guide worked a treat,but is it possible to burn the image to a dvd otherwise from what i gather you still need the swap magic dvd so whats the point...
     
  6. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    once you have your exploit on the memory card you can trigger the cogswap programme with the PS1 game you assigned to it .. at the cogswap screen you can either use a swap method (card/fliptop) and play a cd based PS2 backup or for DVD based backups press "eject" and insert an original high TOC game (gta3 is a good one ,the TOC has to be bigger the the backup you are playing, use search if u are unsure what is meant) then when you get the cogswap yellow PS2 DVDROM screen press "x" on the joypad and wait for the purple cogswap message then use swap method to put in your DVD backup.

    I find cogswap to work really well and some games which need the cdloader fix option to work swap magic work straight from cogswap, and i now i don't need to get my swap magic disks out at all, should make them last a while longer
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2004
  7. witton

    witton Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    excellant advice and thanks a lot for your time...
     
  8. witton

    witton Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you know if theres a way the exploit will boot back ups that require the 5v3nopn option of cd loader it boots all other options but this.
    cheers
     
  9. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i can boot Ratchet and Clank 2 straight from cogswap and that needs the 5v3 np option ?? anyway if can't get round the need for the option just load cdloader from cogswap ...what game is giving you grief ? R&C 3?
    i will try that later today
     
  10. witton

    witton Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    shrek 2 it boots to dreamworks screen then comes up not a playstation2 disc i know back up is good with cd loader.
    can you tell me what the process would be to boot cd loader with cogswap.
    cheers
     
  11. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    boot up method is the same as if using the Swap Magic CD ..trigger cogswap..swap to cd loader ...ect ect

     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2004

Share This Page