1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memorex

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Sincere63, Feb 2, 2005.

1. Sincere63

Sincere63 Guest

i'm new to the backing up scene for the PS2, but I use Memorex DVD-R's to back up my xbox games at 4x. I'm tryin to find out if this is good media for the PS2 and how fast should I burn them. I understand how to back them up and burn them. So i just need to know about the media.
    thanks

2. dragulaAC

dragulaAC Active member

Majority around here believe that memorex is terrible for ps2 backups. Also, try to burn as slow as possible, I burn at 1x. Don't recommend over 2x, however some do get by at 4x.
    Also, many seem to have problems with 8x max dvdr's.

3. jromb

jromb Member

Memorex worked great after firmware update and slowest burn speed.

4. dragulaAC

dragulaAC Active member

Excellent. Yah, never really know. The majority has problems with the lower quality media, but some systems can still handle them.
    heh, i actually tried a K Hypermedia dvd+r 4x disc and it played my backup fine too. I obviously would never recommend that media to anyone though, heh.

It's normally just recommended to get the better media, to have better odds of working on most people's machines.

5. Sincere63

Sincere63 Guest

so what is the best media to use that i can buy in stores. thanks

6. dragulaAC

dragulaAC Active member

Verbatim, Ritek G04, HP, Fujifilm, Taiyo Yuden.
    There's a bunch of good ones.

7. Sincere63

Sincere63 Guest

well on the xbox forums they say memorex are riteks. so can someone break it down for me cause the memorex's work fine on xbox. didn't see why they wouldn't on PS2

8. dragulaAC

dragulaAC Active member