1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memory issue / question

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by HotPoker, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, I posted a thread on another site and they did not help at all and I know tihs site is good for alot of things that I check out. This is my problem I am having...

    What I was wondering is that my Memory Bus Speed atm is 132.5 when it is suppose to run at 200.

    The reason its low like that is because im my bios I manually set the memory to DDR200(100mhz). With the setting this low I can achieve the highest overclock on my cpu. The higher I go with the memory timing, I.E DDR266(133Mhz), ddr300(150Mhz) I start to only oc it less and less.

    So at the moment my cpu is at DDR200(100Mhz) with CPU freq of 265x10 which makes my memory bus speed at the 132.5. What I am wondering is will that low of a memory bus speed make an impact on performance?

    I raised the volts on the cpu slightly and have not messed with the voltage on the ram or anything because of the no OC. Recently I have been gettin a few BSOD and such and I was just wondering also could it be because the ram bus speed is that low? I received the chip not too long ago so I wouldn't think that is the problem. If anyone has any insight or can further shed some light for me that would be great. :)

    Attatched a pic to maybe clarify what I am trying to get across here...if its the memory sticks that are a problem then that maybe might be what I was thinking from the start. They are some crappy sticks lol.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  2. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Can't really tell anything from the pic because it's all messed up. YOu know you should try running Prime 95 to see if it is stable or not. I will probably tell you it isn't, then try running the memory at normal speeds and try Prime 95. If it's stable this time then it was your memory.
     
  3. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What do you mean messed up >_>?
     
  4. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I ran prime95 and everything seemed stable about a month ago. I could try running it again and see if it still is...

    But pretty much all I am wondering if running the bus at that low speed with the cpu high like that will there be a conflict somewhere or is there a way I can get the bus timings back to 200 with the cpu at the setting that it is currently running? Sorry for the confusing questions? I have aim if anyone wants to try to help me out and make it easier to type >< lol.
     
  5. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Haha you fixed it. Well just try what I said and see what happens.
     
  6. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I guess your memory could bottleneck your CPU if you run it low. I think you would probably be better off runing the memory at it's right speed, as it does make a difference.
     
  7. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What type of test should I use, the benchmark or the torture test? With the torture test it looks like it will take a while lol...?
     
  8. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I ran the benchmark on the settings I had it at and then reset the ram + cpu back to the default settings is this was the results.

    OCed with low ram bus
    [Wed Aug 29 23:44:01 2007]

    AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
    CPU speed: 2649.98 MHz
    CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, 3DNow!, MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 cache size: 64 KB
    L2 cache size: 512 KB
    L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L2 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L1 TLBS: 32
    L2 TLBS: 512
    Prime95 32-bit version 24.14, RdtscTiming=1
    Best time for 512K FFT length: 6.063 ms.
    Best time for 640K FFT length: 11.648 ms.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 17.291 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 22.792 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 26.901 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 37.691 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 49.173 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 62.925 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 71.226 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 102.812 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 125.926 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 154.208 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 176.530 ms.



    DEFAULT SETTING
    [Wed Aug 29 23:51:32 2007]

    AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
    CPU speed: 2009.17 MHz
    CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, 3DNow!, MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 cache size: 64 KB
    L2 cache size: 512 KB
    L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L2 cache line size: 64 bytes
    L1 TLBS: 32
    L2 TLBS: 512
    Prime95 32-bit version 24.14, RdtscTiming=1
    Best time for 512K FFT length: 23.462 ms.
    Best time for 640K FFT length: 30.663 ms.
    Best time for 768K FFT length: 37.349 ms.
    Best time for 896K FFT length: 44.673 ms.
    Best time for 1024K FFT length: 49.464 ms.
    Best time for 1280K FFT length: 63.528 ms.
    Best time for 1536K FFT length: 77.653 ms.
    Best time for 1792K FFT length: 93.908 ms.
    Best time for 2048K FFT length: 105.383 ms.
    Best time for 2560K FFT length: 139.586 ms.
    Best time for 3072K FFT length: 171.172 ms.
    Best time for 3584K FFT length: 205.570 ms.
    Best time for 4096K FFT length: 229.521 ms.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  9. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Torture test, it may take from a few minutes to hours. At least leave it on overnight and go to sleep, you need it.
     
  10. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well see thats the thing... When I run the Memory bus at default speed, my cpu OCing is limited but when I drop the ram bus speed I am able to OC the cpu higher the lower I go.
     
  11. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It's faster definitely, but if it crashes on you then what's the point? Try getting the best OC you can with it being stable at the same time. Benchmarks are fine but run a game, and use fraps, see what the difference is. I'm going to sleep now, so peace out. Talk to you tommorow.
     
  12. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I ran prime overnight on torture test while sleeping and it ran for 9 hours with no errors and passed all tests. So I assume my ram is not faulty or anything. My pc hasn't been crashing recently at all.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2007
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well then you're good to go! If the benchmarks turn out better and its stable then all is well. Have fun!
     
  14. HotPoker

    HotPoker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help :D
     
  15. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No problem, that's what we are here for. You learn stuff and you share it.
     

Share This Page