1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

metal gear solid 3 problems?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by styledog, Dec 31, 2004.

  1. styledog

    styledog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can anyone please help I downloaded a copy of MGS3, extracted the iso image,burnt it with alcohol 120% and DVD Decrypter but when i load it up with my swap magic disc's on my PS2 it comes on perfect and playable but as soon as I try to save the game it just freeze.does anyone know what the problem any help is much appricated.
     
  2. GrayFox8

    GrayFox8 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem! Some other people happen to have this problem. I havent been able to solve the problem but would like to hear from anyone who has.
     
  3. cuteperv

    cuteperv Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if uhave an iso image already, then there is no need to extract it, i don't know y u extracted the image.
    But go to dvddecrypter n burn your ISO again. I think that will work fine.
     
  4. styledog

    styledog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had a winrar file that i extracted thr iso from,ive tried burning it again with different software but i get the same results anybody have atleast an idea of whats wrong?
     
  5. andone

    andone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've had the same problem with mgs3. I burnt the image first time and the game wouldnt load. On the second time the burn seemed to work, but after firther speculation on the 4th stage the game woul always freeze.
     
  6. sizla

    sizla Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How big is MGS3 and is it a dual layer disk.
     
  7. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    mine is fine.. don't know what happen to yours.. i burned with a dvd+r verbatim at 1x with a plextor px-716a drive.
     
  8. sellsolid

    sellsolid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How big is the file? I could dtermine whether you have a good copy or not, they are alot of different types you can download, there sizes vary. PM for more details I am more than happy to help.
     
  9. okboz

    okboz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What version of swapmagic are you using? I have 3.3 and it works everytime. Also burnt to ritek GO4- disks at2x and had no problems as yet.I have a version 4 ps2 as well, what is yours?

    Boz

     
  10. styledog

    styledog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im useing 3:3 and the file size was 3.6gb
     
  11. sellsolid

    sellsolid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This question is to anyone who successfully burned onto a disc without any problems:
    'how big is the file once you uncompressed the file?'

    I think it could be that people who download the 3.6gb may have a problem, as there are 4gb file og MGS3 around.

    Could this be the problem?
     
  12. okboz

    okboz Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry to say this but the ISO is 4.24gig and works perfect at that size. Anything less than this, i cant see it working, but you never know. Where did you get it from and was it downloaded? it may be a corruot file size. Was it in winrar format and how many files were in the folder also at what size?

    Think you may as well delet if it was lower than the above size

    Boz
     
  13. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you got it from an original it should work.. if you downloaded it its probably a nuked release.
     
  14. styledog

    styledog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the iso is about 4.24gb's after i extracted it i think it works fine just something im not doing correctly
     
  15. sellsolid

    sellsolid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you have an NTSC system?

    The game is in NTSC format, you may have a PAL system do you think thats the reason you cant save.

    You have to be more specific, does it crash when you click save, or does it wait around few seconds before crashing.

    Cant you save the game anywhere? is it in just certain places???

    Is there a way of saving it on a hdd, if you have hdadvance?
     
  16. GrayFox8

    GrayFox8 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I believe that there is a problem with the actual voice file, it may be corrupt. I finally solved the problem when i decided to press triangle as soon as i pressed the save frequency and it decided to work! Any one with the same problem should try it, report back if problem was solved.
     
  17. Ya_Boi

    Ya_Boi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i thought discussion of downloaded backups was prohibited??
     
  18. chrisosx

    chrisosx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well not really.. most people don't help if its downloaded.. but you can't post links to direct torrent/ed2k files. only links to a website that may have torrents or ed2k files.
     
  19. sellsolid

    sellsolid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The problem was with the actual voice files. I noticed that as soon as you try to save, the lens on your ps2 has problems reading the disc, you could actually hear it. I tried it on 3 different ps2's and the same result occured.

    So I tried converting this to my ps2 hdd, when i save , it saves just like normal. This way you get the best result. I think the PS2 lens is under too much strain when it reads from the disc.
     
  20. r0c0

    r0c0 Guest

    also have a dl copy of mgs , game works fine , inluding saving
     

Share This Page