1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Metroid Prime 3 on a mod Wii

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by bass_hit, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. bass_hit

    bass_hit Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm paranoid. I haven't done the 3.0 update yet. I'm an import gamer and that's all I use my wiikey for is playing PAL and NTSC-J titles on my NTSC-U wii. Nintendo has blocked the Wiikey setup discs in their curent form.

    What happens when their next big title comes out? Will it work? Is anyone else waiting to see what happens on Aug. 27th? Will this board be filled with "Metroid Prime 3 Bricked My Wii" posts?

    I don't dare to move on this update thing. Maybe it's just me.
     
  2. redrumbrg

    redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i don't know about metroid prime 3 but boogie just came out and it doesn't work without the update to 3.0u i am still waiting to see what all comes of this
     
  3. champ2131

    champ2131 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I beg to differ, I'm using Boogie w/o 3.0u
     
  4. amannyr

    amannyr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried playing Boogie with 2.2U and it doesn't work. The disc is recognized but when I click on Start, nothing comes up, not even the screen to tell me to put my wrist strap on.
     
  5. aznsai

    aznsai Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    mate, maybe its the media you are using.
    mines play fine with firmware 2.2u
     
  6. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  7. MistahK

    MistahK Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    prime3 a no go with me. plays then says disc read error. clonecd burn doesn't work at all hardly, but still loads. img burn worked and let me start a profile and change settings but still disc read error when gameplay started. now i am trying img burn at slowest disc speed to see what happens. wish me luck.
     
  8. MistahK

    MistahK Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nevermind.img burn 4x speed. working like a charm.
     
  9. bass_hit

    bass_hit Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Good to know that the backup works. Original should work fine then. Thanks for the testing.
     
  10. Tarfu

    Tarfu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Same here with Metroid Prime 3 burned at 8x like I normally do and although the game loaded I got errors. Went back and burned again at 2x (nero, lowest speed) and everything is fine so it seems metroid is a bit more finicky then any other games.

     
  11. Yoohoo2G

    Yoohoo2G Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How could it be?!?? What mod chip did you use for your Wii? I have Wiikey on my NTSC-U Wii (2.2U) and I'm on the same boat with some people here: unable to play both Boogie & Metroid. They both prompted me to update and I'm paranoid to update. I'll hold on for a little bit longer to wait & see until I'll have no choice but to update to play those games. I'll update via online rather than from the disc to avoid bricking it
     
  12. kidpanda

    kidpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just to let you guys know, i'm using an official wiikey and 2.2u on a ntsc wii, metroid prime 3 ran an update but not a 3.0u update and the game works fine
     
  13. bass_hit

    bass_hit Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Goog. I'm going to be using my Fujifilm DVD-R discs. It's burning at 4X using ImgBurn but I think I might want to try a lower setting (using Nero) as well just to be on the safe side...
     
  14. PJ84

    PJ84 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a PAL Wii, im guessing i need to update to 3.0, to play metroid prime. But i dont have internet on my wii. Any other way i can update. Im thinking of geting mario party 4 PAL would that have 3.0 on it.
     
  15. Yoohoo2G

    Yoohoo2G Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So did you run the update from the disc? What kind of an update is that if it's not 3.0u update? Or it's also a firmware update but older (newer) version? By the way, I know that this is a little bit off topic but anyone has the same experience with Boogie that also runs a different update?
     
  16. kidpanda

    kidpanda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i'm guessing it was some other update, as i checked after it did it and it said i was still on 2.2...also before i performed the update the disc would not load it that helps at all...
     
  17. bass_hit

    bass_hit Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I got to test my backups of MP3. ImgBurn @ 4x loaded. Attempted to do update from disc: FAILED. I put in the CloneCD version @ 1x and the updaut worked like a charm. Crashed during the intro movie. Reset Console.

    Tried skipping the movie. Crashed on the menu screen. DRE. Ejected the disc and it prompted me to put the disc back in. I did so (all without reseting) and the menu loaded. Started playing. Works fine now...

    Picky picky pick...
     
  18. Yoohoo2G

    Yoohoo2G Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you very much for verifying! I guess I'm in the same situation like you before the update: wii read the disc but the disc channel is blank and when I clicked on that icon, the disc would spin and prompt me to update. I'll go ahead and do the update. One thing that still makes me curious though is what exactly it does update if it's not the firmware?
     
  19. Yoohoo2G

    Yoohoo2G Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just want to let you know that I had exactly same problem: both Metroid AND Boogie didn't boot up on my Wii. I've just did the update from Metroid disc (took about 10 seconds!) and both booted up perfectly! Checked the firmware afterwards and it's still 2.2u! And my Wiikey set up disc still boots up like normal! I don't know why both games need that update to boot up and why that update didn't affect the firmware. So don't be so paranoid! Go ahead and update it as the disc prompts you to. By the way, I have NTSC-U Wii version 2.2u with wiikey
     
  20. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The Boogie game disc adds Microphone support. I have heard Metroid Prime 3 adds MP3 support.
     

Share This Page