1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

miniDV + slow processor

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by netbound, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. netbound

    netbound Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all, I have a slight problem when plugging my miniDV panasonic nv-gs1 into my pc via firewire, the problem is as follows:

    the processor on pc shoots up to 100% usage as soon as i plug firewire in.

    this in turn does not let me get access to any progs as the computer freezes right away.

    as soon as i unplug the firewire the processor goes back to normal usage.

    have tried reinstalling pinnacle studio 9.3.5, but to no avail.

    i have been editing film for a couple of years now, and its the first time this has happened.
    hope someone out there has had similar probs and can help me out.

    cheers
     
  2. woody_223

    woody_223 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm sound like somthing is a bit dodgy

    is the firewrie built in or a seperate card, if its seperate i would test it on another machine

    what processor have you got
     
  3. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It sounds like it's probably a problem with either the firewire port itself or the driver in Windows. In either case I agree that the best way to test it would be to find another PC with firewire and try connecting the camcorder to see what happens. If you can't do that I'd see if there are newer drivers for the firewire on your PC (which would also be the next step if it works fine on another PC).
     
  4. derrek

    derrek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    excellant, thanks first for the replies

    woody_223, the firewire card(q-tec 510f) has been installed in my machine for a while now, windows xp sp2, amd athlon xp 2000+, 512 ram, nvidia geforce fx 5200, i recently read their is trouble with the sp2 installation and conflicts with the drivers for firewire, i have been using this for a while now and used to have no problems in using the camcorder in recent years, its just been recently this problem has happened.

    vurbal, i will try and track down updated drivers for the firewire card
     
  5. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I hadn't even thought about SP2. I remember hearing about some ugly firewire/dv camcorder problems being caused by installing it but I don't remember if they match what's happening to you or not. My instinct is to say that's probably causing your problem, but definitely look for updated drivers just in case.
     
  6. woody_223

    woody_223 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if you suspect sp2 then you can just roll back

    the processor and ram should be up to the job ok

    just a case of checking drivers and eliminating things one by one
     

Share This Page