1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mkv to BD-R - the best way?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by karlgent, Aug 9, 2008.

1. karlgent

karlgent Member

Hi all,

Just recently purchased a BluRay writer for my PC and a pack of BD-R's arrived today. I have a few .mkv hi-def movies on my computer and want to put some on discs starting with Sin City.

I had a browse through the back-up thread and found that tsMuxeR was able to do this, so I downloaded that. Is this the best way to convert .mkv movies to the standard BluRay format (mt2s I think?????) or is there a better program that allows menus to be added or more features, etc???

I'm new to this so cheers for the help.

2. Sophocles

Sophocles Senior member

karlgent

You really don't need a BD burner to backup blu-ray. IT an be done to standard DVD media using a standard DVD burner. The only bly-ray equipment that you need is a PC BD player. I've backed up 1080P to a $.27 type 5 media that will play in a BD player with no discernible loss in quality.

To accomplish this I used Ripbot264 which by the way also uses Tsmuxer.

Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  3. greensman

greensman Regular member

karlgent thanks for asking the question. lol. I've been curious about the conversion as well and just needed someone brave enough to ask my question. ;)

Soph.... as always an informative answer. I'll be trying this progie along with the other ones you have to d/l. ;) Thanks...

....gm

4. Sophocles

Sophocles Senior member

greensman

I've been keeping a journal on a thread and you know where it is.

5. greensman

greensman Regular member

/me goes to sort it out. ;) Hope I can understand it once I'm there. :p

....gm

6. karlgent

karlgent Member

I've managed to convert. I was just wanting to try out my blu ray burner.