1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mobo/CPU help

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Hertzy3, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Hertzy3

    Hertzy3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am upgrading my mobo and CPU, and I have a few options I have seen, some help would be great.

    http://www.compusabusiness.com/appl...etails.asp?EdpNo=3403908&Sku=MBM-680ILT-Q6600

    That seems like a great deal, but my question is about the Q6600. It only has 1066 MHz FSB. A Core 2 Duo has 1333 MHz, half the cache (4Mb to 8Mb) and a higher frequency. 2.66GHz to 2.4GHz. How important is FSB? The quad core should still outperform the duo core significantly right? What is the most important thing to look for in a processor?

    Other options

    $50 cheaper

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131142
    with
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115029


    I'm really leaning towards the first bundle, I guess I'm curious if there is a better mobo/cpu that I could get for close to $350?
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The P5N-E SLI is a terrible board, I've had one. Stay away. As for the XFX combo it could be alright, but the board is quite a basic one.
    As for the Quad core, it depends what you use it for. Gaming MAY use a quad core, graphics design etc definitely will, average office operations won't.
     
  3. Hertzy3

    Hertzy3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I generally just use it for regular everyday things, but I do play some online games, so it might not be a complete waste. Also I read that the nvidia 680i chipset is supposed to be pretty good. But the quad core, even for regular applications, it should outperform the duo core correct?
     
  4. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No, the dual core will actually perform better in regular apps because it's clock speed is higher and not all four cores are utilized in everyday apps.
     
  5. Hertzy3

    Hertzy3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  6. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It seems like a really good board, although I have to say, people here at the forums experience problem with Asus boards unless they are the high end ones. Personally I would go with a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R.
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The P5K-E board is a much better one, but better still is the P35-DS3R as Abuzar suggests. It's pretty much the "official afterdawn board" as it's proven to be reliable and offers excellent performance, overclocking and onboard features.
     
  8. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeah, go for a gigabyte board, and since you don't game that much or should i say you only play online games which doesn't need such an expensive parts, go for GA-P35-DS3R it's a mainstream mobo but the quality of that built is excellent.
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you're no gamer, you may as well have a P31-DS3L or P31-S3G, the DS3R is well above the average person's needs.
     
  10. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The lowest I would go is a GA-P35-DS3L. Newegg doesn't even sell the GA-P31-DS3L.
     
  11. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    or a P35-DS3L, or even a G33 shipset, they're are cheap and good.
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    They used to. Now they're only open box.
     
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah, not exactly a good sign.
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The reviews all seemed to be positive when it was on sale. I'll soon find out what it's like because one's going in my cousin's PC I'm building him.
     
  15. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what is the difference between open box and not oped box?
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Open Box is missing some items and the product has been used before.
     
  17. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Open box is a used products and may or may not work. Usually DOESN'T work.
     
  18. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    no wonder it's cheaper, thats jst weird, people even buy it
     
  19. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I got my GA-965P-DS3 for 65 open box. Sure it didn't work when I got it, but I was broke back then. I got a 130 dollar board for 65, and it was excellent deal because Gigabyte quickly fixed it for me. I would do it again, expect for the fact that it doesn't come with accessories, and I'm worried about not having the back plate and waiting 3 weeks for repair.
     

Share This Page