1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mod Wire

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Marshpuft, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. Marshpuft

    Marshpuft Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What type of wire is best for modding, solid or stranded?
    And does anyone know where you would find the thin wire you need for the M2 install?
     
  2. WEStar

    WEStar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    solid wire 30 or 32guage... you can get some from radio shack... kynar wire.
     
  3. Marshpuft

    Marshpuft Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The thinnest wire our radio shack has is 22 swg.

    Someone told me that I should just buy a 7 or 15 ft. telephone cord from Wal Mart and cut it open.

    Telephone cords are just made of 5 really thin stranded wires apparently, and supposedly they will work.

    Should I tell him he's full of it?
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2003
  4. Marshpuft

    Marshpuft Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  5. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Telephone wire is TOO thick....tell him he is REALLY full of it....LOL

    As WEStar said - use Kynar.....

    Don't know what location you are in....
    Have a look here at RS components OR Farnell in one....

    http://www.rswww.com
    http://www.farnell.com

    do a search within for kynar and you should come up some.....

    Hope this helps......
     
  6. Marshpuft

    Marshpuft Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    None of the Radio Shacks in my area carry Kynar wire. They've been "phasing it out" according to the clerks.

    The only place to find it in my area is way out in the county at a Radio Shack franchise.
     
  7. WEStar

    WEStar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    so go to a shop that carries electronics parts (resistors, capacitors etc...) we have a few in out area so i'm sure you'll be able to find one.
     
  8. dotgp

    dotgp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its impossible that telephone wire to be too thick as when u take of the insulation u will find that once seperated the wire is abou the size of a cats hair (best comparison ;))

    i thought i had found the perfect wire only to figure out there would be no insulation for it whatsoever so basically phone wire strands are the perfect thickness but are totally useless.
     

Share This Page