1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modchip's almost in

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by LordMiL, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey all. I spent an hour and a half last night putting my Infinity in my PS2 and all in all it wasn't that tough of a process. I hit one snag with points B and I, which are a complete bitch to install because they are way too small and I have poor eyesight :) (By the way, will bridging legs on a chip like that fry the PS2 or will it just not boot?)

    Anyway, I'm on the last 2 wires, 3.3V and GND. However, the freaking GND will NOT stick to the board. After the first try I noticed that there was a shiny layer on top of the point, so I scratched at it lightly with my xacto knife. Tried again and still no dice, so I scratched a little more. At this point I've scratched it enough that there should be nothing left keeping it from attaching to the board and yet it just won't stick. I'll tin the wire, place it on the the board, heat the bad boy up and add a little more solder (it's a big point) and the join will look great (shiny, etc.) then I'll go to tug on the wire and it along with the solder will come off. After that I tried to just put some solder by itself on the board and it stuck like glue. So then I tried soldering the wire to the point again and it all came off. Strange no?

    Does anyone know what the trick is to getting the GND point to stick? Also, what are the possible consequences if I happened to bridge two legs on the chip with the I and B points?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. SCMods

    SCMods Guest

    yes bridging can fry stuff , if you cant get solder to stick you are obviously not using flux so i would be concerned about your other points also .
     
  3. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You are absolutely right. Unfortunately I ran out of Flux and the local radioshack and radioshack.com were sold out. I've never seen flux be a necessity, just a help, but I guess if I can't get this damn ground to stick soon I may have to shelve the project until I can get some ordered.

    Is there anything else you would recommend that might help out?
     
  4. SCMods

    SCMods Guest

    there may be alt points to solder b/i depending on what version ps2 you are doing that would make it a little easier than the chip legs .
     
  5. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try soldering your GND to the copper edge around the sides of the PS2. that should work if it is short enough.
     
  6. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for all the info.

    I actually just finished everthing up, reassembled my PS2 and tried booting it up.

    here's what happened:

    When I hit the reset button to turn the console on, the screen flashed then stayed black and did nothing. I heard the disc spin up and that's about it. I tried hitting reset to reset it and the same thing happened. I tried resetting a couple more times and found that about 1/5 times I hit reset, the PS2 will boot normally and take me to the main screen. However, inserting a PS2 original or DVD movie results in the browser saying that it's a PS2 game disc and then the screen goes black as if it were about to load the game, then after a couple seconds returns me to the browser screen.

    Any idea which points this might be? Also, I will move the ground to the outter edge as that seems a much better place, and I have a V3 USA console. Any idea what alt B and I locations there might be? (although I think I finally got them on there good)

    Thanks!
     
  7. SCMods

    SCMods Guest

    hmm , sounds like you have a bridge to me ..
     
  8. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    really?

    hmm, I was under the impression that a bridge would result in it not booting at all...

    But I won't rule out the possibility since those damn B and I legs are so short that even with a 25x magnifying glass it's hard to be certain there's no bridging!

    thanks
     
  9. SCMods

    SCMods Guest

    also make sure none of the wires are getting pinched when you put the metal shield on .
     
  10. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WOOT! It works!
    Thank you so much for the idea of making sure no wires were getting pinched by the metal shield. It reminded me that I forgot to put the metal shield back in :) Sure enough, that seems to have fixed the problem.

    Thanks SO MUCH guys!

    I'm sure that if anything goes wrong in the near future with the chip I'll be back to seek your expert advice :)
     
  11. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hehe, alright, next question.

    So I put in my first backed up game and things were going well. About 20 minutes into it the game freezes. I hit reset and the console resets and the purple light on the DVD drive goes away. So I reset again and it boots up and I play the game for a while longer and it freezes again. So I decide to check it out with a normal disc. The game loads but it takes a good 60 seconds to read the disc and forever to load levels and such. I realize my console is old but I never really had disc errors before the modchip install. Is it possible that I screwed up the calibration on my laser and need to correct it or is this possibly chip related?
     
  12. SCMods

    SCMods Guest

    if the laser was fine before i doubt that is it , make sure the fan is working , and you have no cold/loose solder joints
     
  13. LordMiL

    LordMiL Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, I think you are probably right, SC, it's gotta be a bad or disconnected joint. Here's what happened

    After I posted that message last night I had my roommates play with it for a while. They said that they tried playing a couple original games and after about 10 minutes the load times went back up to normal. So they decided to try some backups again and they worked perfectly. They ended up playing backups for 2-3 hours straight with zero skipping/freezing.

    However, today when I got back from work I fired up the PS2 and sure enough it will no longer play any backups, it gives me the red cubes of death. It will still play originals perfectly, however. SO, I guess I'm gonna have to wait until I finish this huge project I'm working on right now so I can take some time and sit down, rip the bad boy open and check all the points again.

    I do have 2 more questions though :)
    1) After I get everything working perfectly, is it safe to use Krazy glue to hold all the wires/joints in place? I assume it's nonconductive.

    2) If you are playing a PS2 game and switch the console off with the power switch in the back, is this bad for it? A friend of mine always does that and my other friend constantly yells at him and says he read somewhere that that will ruin stuff and that you should hold the reset button to put it in standby first.

    Thanks a TON again for all the help!
     
  14. SCMods

    SCMods Guest

    i would recomend using hot glue and glue the wire before the solder joint , dont glue the point itself because if there is a problem it will be hard to fix . i dont like super glue because it is permanent , hot glue can be removed if needed . it dosent matter how you turn it off .
     

Share This Page