1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modded wii can't read backup's

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by fred20, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. fred20

    fred20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've just received my modded wii back from an installer with the new Argon chip

    However none of my backups can be read by the console - although the originals are all fine. The machine simply gives me a message can't read disk

    All 10 of the discs are burnt to Verbatim -R's using either Nero or ImgBurn at a low speed (either 2 or 4 speed)with a Pioneer 111D burner

    Can anyone suggest where the problem may lie

    Cheers
    Fred
     
  2. brucedlx

    brucedlx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the one sentence tells me your media, burner and burning speed are fine.

    Argon chip? I've never heard of that, is it a wiikey clone? I would say either a faulty chip or shoddy install job.

    Strange though because a good installer will usually test several games before giving you back a modded system.

    Definitely call back your installer.

    Just as a preventative measure though, the 10 discs weren't all the same game right? In that case it could have been a corrupt image and obviously I would tell you to try another.
     
  3. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the argon chip is the latest chip available for d2c wiis

    its just relatively new thats why u maybe havent heard of it


    i would try different brands of discs or if the installer is close take it back and ask him to show it working

    take note of which discs he uses and get some of them
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  4. fred20

    fred20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the advice - have emailed the installer and am awaiting his response - it was 10 different iso's so I'd be amazed if this was the problem.

    I'll try to get hold of an alternative brand of discs tomorrow and give that a go although I thought I was playing safe with Verbatim

    Cheers
    Fred
     
  5. GRIM1

    GRIM1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i had problems with Verabatims TY03, i know people speak highly of them but just didnt work for me...just constant disc errors, dunno if it was the Wii of my DVD writer....it reads the G04 & G05 dye discs fine....(Ritek)
     
  6. sihota

    sihota Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you sure that the game you burned are an iso fiele and where did you download them from and are you sure your wii is correctly modded
     
  7. fred20

    fred20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sihota ,

    All of the images are iso's which have been downlaoded from newsgroups - If one or two weren't working then I would have my suspicions about their validity but seems odd for all 10 not to work.I'm about to burn some of the images to RITEK discs to see if that helps but I'm not convinced

    Have been in touch with my chipper and he is going to have a look at the hardware again - hopefully this should resolve the problem

    Cheers
    Fred
     

Share This Page