1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding a compaq drive array - Question

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by pcupitt, May 3, 2005.

  1. pcupitt

    pcupitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just got a Proliant 3029 drive array tower with 6 4.2G SCSI Ultra wide2 drives in hot swap caddies. I cannot find info anywhere which lets me know I can change the actual hard drives up to a 9 or 18G inside the caddies. I did find one thread elswhere which said it was problematic. Please assist with any info possible. I do plan to experiment with drives other than Compaq as well. Comments?
    Also powder coating the case and colour changing the front panels/ and caddies, changing fans and all the other quirky stuff I can think of.
    Thanks
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    have you worked or used scsi drives before as they are different from ide drives
     
  3. pcupitt

    pcupitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, SCSI is all new to me. I have been reading up a fair bit and am learning as I go. Trust me to start with something complicated ;-(
    I rate myself as "Quietly Confident" and "Intermediate" as far as PCs go.
    You know ........... Mad Scientist
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    my 1st hd was a 105meg rodime scsi 1 hd. still have it but not using it now. unless the motherboard has the scsi connectors on it, the drives won't be seen by the bios but by the scsi contoller card. you should be able to put any size scsi drive into the array including above 18gig. each drive uses an id# so no master or slave like on the ide drives.
     
  5. pcupitt

    pcupitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, let me get this straight.... as long as I don't use a mobo with onboard SCSI controller and I rely on a PCI controller to do the job, then it should all work fine.
    Have a laugh at this I am buliding a server based on a P3 with an IDE drive for the Operating system and then connecting a SCSI drive array and a SCSI disk array and wireless networking to all others in the house (I built some for the kids).......then when NASSA gets really busy, they can call and ask for backup hahaha
     
  6. pcupitt

    pcupitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    In fact, following this theory, I could replace the actual compaq drive in the caddy with an IBM or MAXTOR, ETC SCSI drive as long as I use the compaq caddy?
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
  8. pcupitt

    pcupitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thaanks a lot. I'll check it out .
    Have a great day.
    I'll check back in in a day or so
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     
  10. pcupitt

    pcupitt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Whoa......36watts for a RAM stick and only 3 for a lighted casr fan !!!
    I guess SCSI is going to be more difficult than I thought ;-)
    At least both arrays have their own power supply.
    Any links to how to actually set up a small netorked file server with SCSI arrays?
     

Share This Page