1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

monitor goes to standby

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by gaz1, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. gaz1

    gaz1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey everyone, can you help? after xp start screen my monitor goes right to standby i cant use windows at all and i cannot go to safe mode, help!!!
     
  2. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Did you add anything to your tower,extra fan/hard drive/stick of ram?

    Or maybe a powersurge?
     
  3. gaz1

    gaz1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i added nothing to it first the mouse stopped working then all of a sudden this problem popped up. Any help would be greatfully accepted. thanks.
     
  4. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I am not much of a hardware "specialist". ddp is the pro here so maybe he will be around.

    I had an issue the other week when my pc would not post,solid black screen on my monitor. Both times it did this to me,it turned out to be my ram. First time,a powersurge burned up one of my 1 gig sticks of ddram-pc-2700. I replace it a week later with a half a gig stick,worked great for a week,and bam,wouldn't post. That ram socket on my motherboard went bad-out of the blue. A tech removed that stick,and she started to post and run like normal again.

    It sounds like your pc won't post,check and make sure your ram stick are pushed down and clamped down securely.
    How many sticks of ram is on your motherboard?

    It can also be a bad driver.

    It also could be your powersupply unit.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2005
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can you try another mouse if you hadn't already it appears from what you said the problem started just after the mouse stopped working. can you get into safe mode?? is mouse & keyboard ps2 or usb??
     
  6. jaydeeX3

    jaydeeX3 Guest

    swap out the mouse for a good one that u know of and see if its your mouse...also check pins on the ps/2 connector and make sure none of them bent.... as far as your monitor, how far do u get before it goes into standby mode???? answer back
     
  7. gaz1

    gaz1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i tried to get into sfe mode but nothing is happening on that front as there is no option for safe mode on the start up screen. there is no way to get new drivers as i cannot get to windows. I checked the ram its in fine and i have a new mouse. I get to the xp logo after bios and then it shuts off the monitor. any ideas??? Thanks.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    press f8 just after post screen than will give you menu with different options including safe mode. how many sticks of ram do you have & what is specs on your computer
     
  9. gaz1

    gaz1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i'm in safe mode now I had to change the control of my keyboard. I have one stick of ram I'm not to sure of spec I think its 512ram 2400 athlon processor. Is that any good to you? I changed my resolution back to normal 1024x768 but it still goes off. any ideas? cheers.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does screen go off in safe mode too. can you try another monitor to eleminate possibilities of it being a monitor problem.
     
  11. gaz1

    gaz1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah its not a monitor prob i tried another. it was thw first thing I did. any more ideas? Thanks.
     
  12. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Usually this happens, when the video driver has gone splat.

    What normally happens is that your PC runs in VGA mode during the initial load, then your video drivers are loaded just after the windows XP screen is displayed (from what you said, it is at this point the screen goes into standby)

    Just for clarity, make sure your graphics card (if it is seperate, AGP/PCI etc) is firmly plugged in.
    Go into safe mode and uninstall your graphics adapter, then restart as normal (not in safe mode).
    Windows should then boot up as normal and just reinstall your graphics driver/software etc..........

    It may not cure it, but I have encountered this problem many times, and it has been down to 1 of 2 things, bad connection from card to m/b or the driver has suddenly gone splat...........

    Hope this helps..........
     

Share This Page