1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

monitor problem (windows)

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by sberrill, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. sberrill

    sberrill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i have a problem with my monitor it keeps going on stand by and i can't get it off only if i keep the computer turned off for about 15 mins.... help!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is it the monitor doing it or the computer doing it
     
  3. sberrill

    sberrill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im sure the computer is doing it
     
  4. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    See if some setting got changed in your Screen Saver options in Display properties.
     
  5. sberrill

    sberrill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes i have checked the settings and it is 0k
     
  6. p4_tt

    p4_tt Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    When you say its ok do you mean its ok now or the settings are the same as b4?
     
  7. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    How long does it take before your monitor goes off?
    Is the time exactly the same?

    It maybe that the power management options are setup wrong, ie windows is turning off the monitor after a set time.

    Or could be that the BIOS power management is having an influence.

    Also check to make sure your graphics card/cable is connected firmly.

    Best thing if you can is to try another monitor, as it maybe that your current on is losing sync and may have an internal failure.

    What kind of monitor are you using, TFT (flatscreen) or CRT (tube)?
     
  8. sberrill

    sberrill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    crt but the monitor is new, i think i have a virus so im just gonna install windows again
     
  9. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Instead of loading Windows again, do a virus scan, if you really think that there is one, on your computer.
     
  10. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

Share This Page