1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monitor Stuck in Power Saving Mode

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by kimnacht, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. kimnacht

    kimnacht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I unplugged my video card to install a wireless card, then reinstalled the video card, and now my monitor will not come out of analog power saving mode. Any ideas about what I may have done wrong? Thanks!
     
  2. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    What kind of video card? AGP? Did you install the wireless card in the slot just below the video card?
     
  3. kimnacht

    kimnacht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, the video card is AGP, and yes, I installed the wireless card in the PCI slot right below it. Thanks for replying! :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2007
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    reseat the video card as might have partly come out of card slot when installing wireless card. happened to me on a customer's computer recently.
     
  5. kimnacht

    kimnacht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, the video card is perfectly seated in the AGP slot. I removed the wireless card, but the monitor still will not come out of power saving mode. hmmmmm
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    clear the cmos chip as have found it to sometimes kickstart a stubborn system.
     
  7. fs291

    fs291 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    make sure the monitor is plugged in at all parts expecially where it goes into the agp card, i have a problem w/ my case b/c the vga out is so close to the side of the case i just have to force it on and i cant tighten the screws, try the other output if theres more then 1
     
  8. kimnacht

    kimnacht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks everyone for your help! I guess I'll just try again to see if the card is situated properly. :(
     
  9. porchmasi

    porchmasi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can safetly say once i pulled out my AGP graphics card and repluged it i kept getting No Signal Input. GOing to Power Save Mode ...

    To solve return it if it is covered under warranty, it solved my problem

    ex. ATI has great service/repair

    I am confident you fried your card, if u are sure it is seated properly and no display appears and ur onboard intel/misc one works with ur agp one removed
     
  10. kimnacht

    kimnacht Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the advice, but actually, I just happened to try turning on the pc again, and it powered up just fine. *shrug*
    If it acts up again, I'll definitely contact ATI.

     
  11. porchmasi

    porchmasi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    aww lol i wish my same problem u had, was solved so easily like urs, ati told me it was a fried card, and once i got my new 1 it was fixed :p but it happened AGAIN yesterday and i sent back today :( i bet my power outage had somethign to do with it
     

Share This Page