1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More trouble with RAY

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by puffyrock, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. puffyrock

    puffyrock Guest

    I'm about at my wit's end trying to back up the movie RAY,the 2 disc edition. I use DVD Decryptor to rip the DVD,and compress it with DVDshrink. I've done this with and without AnyDVD running,and it makes no difference. When i try to burn it with Pinnacle Instant CD+DVD,which is the program that I have,i get the same error at about 99 percent. It says:WRITE 32768 BYTES AT POSITION 400.
    Can anybody help?
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    why don't you try creating an ISO image w/ shrink and use decrypter to burn.
     
  3. sox2k4

    sox2k4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you got it flip, this is the only thing that would work for me with Ray.... tried seemingly everything else with no success.
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I ripped this movie with the new dvd decrypter, then ran it through Nero's Recode 2 ... created a video_ts files, then burned with CopyToDVD.
     
  5. puffyrock

    puffyrock Guest

    how exactly can you backup the movie to iso with shrink?
     
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    when you click "backup!" you change the target destination to "ISO Image file" or if you have DVD Decrypter installed choose "ISO Image File and burn with DVD Decrypter".
     
  7. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    [bold]This was a post I did on another thread about Ray and what happened afterwards:[/bold]

    I have the two disk version, one for the movie and one for the extra's, currently encoding now in my PC with AnyDVD in the background and using Shrink for the encoding. I'll let you know what happens after the burn. But I can say that neither Windows media player nor Nero Showtime 2 will allow the movie to play. Windows will play the music from the DVD, but that’s it.

    The error message reads:

    "Sorry, the folder you have selected does not contain a valid DVD-Video, SCVD, or VCD structure. Please use the 'Media Files' function to browse and play back files from this folder."

    [bold]Scratch everything I said above about the error message or that the movie would not play! AnyDVD running in the background was the culprit! [/bold]

    Once I finished my burn, I exited out of AnyDVD and poof, everything was fine. The original disk Ray plays in either my Burner or my DVD rom drive!

    It burned well with both versions also on one DVD and it plays as well on both also.

    [bold]That was the end of my previous post.[/bold]
     
  8. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    good point ScubaBud. I also had to turn off AnyDVD.
     
  9. puffyrock

    puffyrock Guest

    right now i'm saving the movie with shrink set on CREATE ISO AND BURN WITH DECRYPTER. I have decrypter also,so i'll tell you if it works.
     
  10. puffyrock

    puffyrock Guest

    dosen't work. i get an i/o error
     
  11. CKY_2084

    CKY_2084 Guest

    I just ripped that movie today. Was no trouble at all, I just used Decryptor to rip, Shrink to Shrink, and Nero to burn. Plays just fine.
     
  12. movies27

    movies27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I used Icopy & dvd43free and copied it with no problem.
     
  13. puffyrock

    puffyrock Guest

    i eventually got it. i ripped to iso with decrypter,and with shrink i set everything but the movie to still image. the only problem is,when i put the dvd in my player,a screen comes up that says 'the video has been removed'. the movie plays only if i press stop then play on the remote. at least i got it though.
     
  14. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    puffyrock

    When you select "Still Image", it places a picture in place of what was there before, but the timing stays the same. Just for kicks, try it again and leave the remote alone. You'll eventually see it will get to the movie. If the movie is all you need with menus try ScubaPete's guide on using DVD Decrypter with Nero Recode2. If you don't have Nero, you can download a trial version to play with it and see if it gives you what you want.
     

Share This Page