1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboard trouble.

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by xithius, Feb 6, 2007.

  1. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, I have a few things I need to do on my comp..
    One is update the motherboard drivers, which has not been done since 03.
    and the next is update my video card drivers if possible, which was from 11/22/06..
    I need to know how to check my motherboard model, etc..
    And then find a 06-07 update if possible.
    Also, is there a newer Nvidia Geforce Fx series driver than 11/22/06?
    If there is, is it available on the nvidia site?
    And also, I really need to get that motherboard driver down, so can anyone please tell me how to check my Mobo info and install a newer driver..thanx.
    (Also, I do not have the box for the mobo the comp is custom-made and I can't check the mobo itself for the info).
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  3. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Doesn't list manufacturer but..
    model: KT600-8327
    chip set: VIA KT600
    southbridge: VIA VT8237
    sensor: ITE IT8705
    REV: 80

    BIOS---
    Brand: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    Version: 6.00 PG
    date: 12/24/2003 (need to update this!)

    And thats the MB info..
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  5. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm thinkin its that one, becuz its kt600-VTA8327 but I just wanna be sure, cuz if I install the wrong MB driver, my comp can be REALLY screwed.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    post from device manager what is the netcard & soundcard
     
  7. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the device manager? Because CpuZ doesn't say anythin bout mi soundcard/netcard
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    go into control panel than system. click on device manager & you'll see your hardware.
     
  9. gtjr_ph

    gtjr_ph Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  10. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    K well I got it up,

    Under sound and stuff its:
    Audio Codecs
    Legacy Audio codecs
    legacy video capture devices
    media control devices
    sound blaster live! 24-bit (sound card)
    and video codecs.
    ------------------
    Not sure what a netcard is though, unless u mean network adapter.
    Linksys LNE100TX fast ethernet adapter (LNE100TX x4)
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sound card is sound blaster live! 24-bit & the network adapter is Linksys LNE100TX
     
  12. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yup..
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    neither one is on the kt600 series boards unless the onboards are disabled in the bios. did you add those cards & if so than will have the driver disks? take a look at the backside of tower to see if have 2 netcards & 2 sets of connectors for 2 soundcards.
     
  14. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Uhm no two slots for sound card/net card but I remember some1 telling me I need to disable my onboard soundcard on the BIOS after or before I install my MB drivers.
    Not sure how to do that though.
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    your onboard sound & netcard are already disabled as what you posted working is not what comes with computer.
     
  16. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had to upgrade the sound card, but not sure bout the ethernet.
    So, how exactly can I get the MB driver?
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  18. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got the hyperion pro thing, but the 4 in 1 driver thing was "unable to execute"..?
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    unable to execute in what way as i downloaded it last night & ran it to install folder, not to install into windows as have 5.10 version installed.
     
  20. xithius

    xithius Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I downloaded, extracted the files and tried to install it.
    But I got the other one done, not sure what it is tho.
     

Share This Page