1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motorola Razr Ringtone help!

Discussion in 'Motorola phones' started by SnprSlick, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. SnprSlick

    SnprSlick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ive looked on google, and have used methods, but they fail.
    Im running Windows Vista/XP and I wanna upload a ringtone to my Motorola Razr V3. Ive tried using phonetools but it doesnt detect the phone. I know its not really supported for connectivity. But is there a way to upload ringtones to the phone through a computer? If so, How?
     
  2. NicHt

    NicHt Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here is my guide:
    first of all download this:
    http://developer.motorola.com/?path=1.2.6.30.777
    Then unzip it, and run it. Then plug your phone in, it should then say "1 device connected" Then it will say new hardware found! When it asks to install drivers click on the one that says do it just click the thing that says you want to do it yourself. Tell it to 'include this folder in the search' give it the folder u unzipped the program to, then click next it will find the drivers, just keep clicking next or yes. When it is done, another driver install window will pop up, keep doing the exact same thing (search in the specified folder) and repeat untill the install driver box stops popping up. [it will install a different driver every time] then goto
    http://www.motomodders.net/
    and become a memeber then goto the tab: download>software>p2k software
    and on that page download:
    P2KTools Version 0.7.1.9 by Bezol
    then once it is downloaded unzipped and running, run the UID extractor when they are both running. Plug in your phone and wait, then goto the p2k program and click 'refresh' Now you have full access to your phone! including A:\ and C:\ BUT DO NOT DELETE ANYTHING THAT IS ALREADY ON YOUR PHONE, BECAUSE IF YOU ARE A NOOB LIKE MYSELF YOU WILL TOTALLY screw it anyway that being said you can goto: on p2k software of course!
    C>mobile>>auido
    then drop and drag any music file you want! Or pictures or videos!
    PS: i know it is a very long process but trust me it is worth it! and better then any 'included' motorola software!
     
  3. SnprSlick

    SnprSlick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried that, Im using a Motorola Razr V3. And have installed p2k drivers, when I run P2k tools it freezes.
     
  4. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    My Razr V3 will connect to MPT and u-pload MP3 Files as ringtones,

    One of two things are happening,
    1. plug your USB directly to your computer, do not plug it into a 4 way hub, or
    2. make sure that you have version 4.0 or greater of MPT, it will automatically update itself from the menu.
    drivers for V3 connecting
    follow the other links for further guides and videos how to connect your phone,
    I currently have a V3 (Suncom) and a V3M (Verizon) connecting to MPT without problems, the V3M needed to be seem edited to allow MPT to upload ringtones and pics, the seem editing guide is on the same page as the other guides. Have fun and let me know how it goes.
     
  5. SnprSlick

    SnprSlick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It still doesnt work. Im using a Razr v3(cingular) but my computer recognizes it as a v3r but I know it isnt because it has 4 megs of space.
     
  6. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    can you connect MPT with your phone?
    If so, then go in and manually change the modem to V3.
    click on the center button in the star cluster, (Menu)

    click on setup, general setup, click on the communication tab, then change modem, click next, select the motorola modem, then next,
    at the screen, check the box which says "do not automatically detect.." hit next, then select GSM,(If your phone is a GSM), then select V3, then hit finish, and okay, you should be okay now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2007
  7. SnprSlick

    SnprSlick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cant connect to MPT. Stated in the first post.
     
  8. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    go to control panel, modems, uninstall your motorola modem, then restart your computer, then reconnect your phone, with the new drivers your phone should be redetected, hopefully as a V3.
     
  9. NicHt

    NicHt Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks Blivet, been swamped with work latley.
     
  10. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @NicHt
    No problem, learned a lot from your posts and guides.
     
  11. SnprSlick

    SnprSlick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    still doesnt work.
     
  12. NicHt

    NicHt Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try the extended guide in my sig...
     
  13. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Still think it is due to incorrect drivers being used.
     
  14. Frenchi

    Frenchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Try using the latest version of MPT (if you haven't already). My sister got a V3 (the one that plays music) and she got that to work.

    You can get the latest version by using live-update or finding it somewhere on the net.
     
  15. rjdriver

    rjdriver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Phone Tools can be a pain. If it still doesn't recognize your phone after uninstalling all drivers and reinstalling and updating, consider using bluetooth to transfer the file.

    A USB bluetooth adaptor for your PC can be had for 10-15 bucks.


    You might find some help in these tutorials, also:

    http://www.cd2ringtone.com


    Bob
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007

Share This Page