1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Movie skipping?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by JJenn74, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. JJenn74

    JJenn74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've burned a handful of movies and they all seem to have occasional skipping in them. It wasn't a real problem until "I, Robot". I tried watching it last night and it froze and skipped like crazy. It even occasionally skipped entire chapters. Is there something I can do to fix the problem? I'm usind DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink and burning at 4X. Maybe I should burn slower? I'm at a loss and a little dumb about this whole thing, please help.
     
  2. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If your backup freezes, stutters, skips, or has some pixelation, it is more than likely due to poor quality media being used. You can try using a different media, and with cheaper media a 2x burning speed
     
  3. vike

    vike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you burning with other programs running? How many fragments is the file? I notice that when I burn
    1. With cheap Media
    2. While doing something else on my box
    3. With one of my VTS files fragmented (fragments>1000)
    that my backups skip. If you are not sure of fragmentation, then defrag your hard drive.
     
  4. JJenn74

    JJenn74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm using Maxwell DVD-R. I've just bought a spindle of Maxwell DVD+R. Hoping they will work better. If your computers screensaver kicks on during the decryption or the burning does that effect the playback?
     
  5. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It can. It is generally recommended that you disable your screensaver while encoding/burning.

    Use this free proggy and give us the media code of your Maxell's. http://dvd.identifier.cdfreaks.com/
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  6. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You can also check to make sure your burner firmware is up to date. You did not say what kind of burner you had.
     
  7. JJenn74

    JJenn74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it says that the disc was made by Hitachi Maxell.
     
  8. JJenn74

    JJenn74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The media code is 002. What does that mean? I'm using a Lite-on DVD burner.
     
  9. JJenn74

    JJenn74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually I'm burning onto DVD+R and just bought a spindle of DVD-R. I'm looking at my burner and it says "DVD+ReWritable", does that mean I can't burn DVD-R? I'm sorry for the dumb questions but I just started copying.
    Thanks
     
  10. bilbo65

    bilbo65 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If your burner lists only +rs then thats all it will burn. No go with -rs. Check your specific drive to see what media with which it is compatible.
     
  11. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What model Litey do you have? I'll bet it will burn both +r and -r formats.
     
  12. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Have you tried to play the movie(s) back in your computer using the same drive you burned them with? If that plays fine, it's a compatibility issue between your media and your DVD player. Not necessarily bad media, just that they don't play nicely together. If this is the case, change media or players, your choice.

    If your burner will not play the movie back properly, then it's probably just plain bad media.
     
  13. JJenn74

    JJenn74 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys. Thanks for all the help. I found that DVD-Rs played fine and DVD+Rs skipped. It must be a compatability issue with my DVD Player (stand alone). It's about 4 years old so I guess it's time to invest in a new one.
     
  14. florasped

    florasped Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am having the same problem!!! and it's making me crazy!

    at any rate ... i have a lite-on that burns DVD+RW and am using DVD+R media, so i can't figure out what the problem is. i also made the adjustments recommended in another thread for the preferences menus. it is happening to almost every dvd i back up. does anyone have any other ideas?


    also - on the subject of media - i am using Verbatim DVD+Rs, and have also used Sony DVD+Rs ... is that bad? can anyone recommend "good" media?
     
  15. florasped

    florasped Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    also - I have a new dvd player w/ all the new bells and whistles, so i'm quite positive it's not the player. and it also happens on my computer when i play them back.
     
  16. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yea, the older players back that far were usually -R players only. I burn only -R media just so I never have any problems if someone borrows a movie to watch.

    Jerry
    @florasped, Poor playback can be from several issues.
    1. poor/cheap quality blank media.
    2. programs running in the background while burning the dvd.
    3. burning too fast usually over the 4x speed.
    4.multitasking while burning.
    5. stick on lables on the dvd.
    Thats a few items that will cause playback issues.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2005
  17. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    florasped,

    I use Verbatum dvd+r's media code MCC003 almost exclusively. I also use some Sony dvd+rw's media code Phillips 041. I was having some similar problems when I first switched from Ritek Ridata dvd+r's to the verbatums. You may need to reset the learnt media eeprom. After doing this to my litey 1653, I am getting the best kprobe scans I have ever had. Check out this web page. http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=112103

    Also if you don't already have it I recommend downloading kprobe to check for PI, PIF errors. PIF errors are the only ones to be really concerned with. Kprobe scans with PIF errors of 4 and under are considered good. Here's a link. http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=83441

    Then If you want you can use an image hosting page to post the results of your scan. Here's one, there are others. http://www.photobucket.com/
     
  18. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Something I forgot to mention. You can also booktype your dvd+r/rw media dvd-rom with lite-on's booktype utility making your backups much more compatable. Look here. http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=83441

    All the utilities and programs I have mentioned are free but only work with lite-on's.
     
  19. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    thanks for the links Mort!
     
  20. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Here's the results of a Ritek G04 on my LiteOn LDW-411S.

    [​IMG]

    Here's the results in text form:

    Date : 4/12/2005 12:07:03 PM
    Model : 1-0-0-0 E:LITE-ON DVDRW LDW-411S FS0K
    Disc : DVD-R , RITEKG04 [RiTEK Corporation]
    Speed : Max
    ECC blocks sum (PI/PIF) : 8/1
    Scanned range : 0 - 2295112
    Sampling count : 62233
    Errors : 0
    PI Max : 553
    PI Average : 117.80
    PI Total : 1760545
    PIF Max : 66
    PIF Average : 0.31
    PIF Total : 4575
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005

Share This Page