1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving files from C Drive to the D Drive???

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by loxley32, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. loxley32

    loxley32 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi ... I have a Sony Viao desktop, and my C Drive is half full (or half empty, I guess) but my D Drive has plenty of room. How can I move some programs over to the D Drive (like AOL, etc.)?

    thank you for any help,

    Brian
     
  2. Mufasa33

    Mufasa33 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    right click on the start button and click explore....then find the folders that u want to copy from your "C" drive....right click them....select copy....go onto your "D" drive and right click and press paste....depending on how big the folders are it may take a while.
     
  3. Jeanc1

    Jeanc1 Guest

    Moving PROGRAMS from one drive to another requires more then just cut and paste files !!! --

    May i suggest the ONLY way of doing it.

    #1 -- uninstall the program
    #2 -- Re-install AND when asked where the installation is to be done -- STATED clearly the path
    of your D: drive

    #3 -- Now , applaud and laugh cause you have done it the right way !


    Note:The installation of a PROGRAM is much more then just putting files in a folder -- it involves creating links to other portion of your Operating systems such as kernell, libraries etc.. .. to achieve what the program is about. -- registry entries are made , and needed for proper functioning.

    Do It Right , and you will be a Happy Camper !

    Take Care.

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Do It Right , and you will be a Happy Camper !

    Take Care.[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2004
  4. Prisoner

    Prisoner Guest

    Good call Jeanc1, if you followed Mufasa33 method three things will occur.
    1. not work
    2. will need to be remaped and then will be bugy
    3. might work (only if self enclosed, like WinAmp)

     
  5. Jay05

    Jay05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Simply I suggest that you uninstall the program and then reinstalling it in the D: drive. This should solve your problem...
     
  6. loxley32

    loxley32 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks guys ... I will reinstall to D Drive.
     

Share This Page