1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MP3 Players . MP3 to WMA file format

Discussion in 'Audio' started by grabber, Dec 30, 2004.

1. grabber

grabber Member

I'm a novice at file formats & have what may be a simple question, but appreciate any experienced posters' assistance.

I bought my daughters 128 mg iriver MP3 players for Xmas. Salesperson said they could hold up to 60 songs and play up to 4 hours.

Downloaded about 26 songs (at av 4 -5 mgs from my music library on my computer) and it filled up the player.

Called the salesperson back and he said that I would need to convert my MP3 files to WMA files to get the additional space for the songs.

I understand that MP3 files are already compressed and therefore assume that WMA files are even smaller.

What is the simplest way to convert my music files on my hardrive to WMA? I use WIN/MX as my file sharing program to download songs from the net but from what I can see, about 99.9% of the files are downloaded as MP3.

Or is the answer to simply buy a larger capacity MP3 player?

It seems however that my daughters have friends with similiar 128 mg MP3 platers and are getting many more songs on their players.

2. uponthis

uponthis Regular member

For my MP3 player 256MB (not an iriver) I use dbPoweramp Music Converter to convert from MP3 to WMA and i have the birate size set to 48 kbps, 44kHz, stereo(A/V) CBR and music sounds fine. Just do a search for dbPoweramp Music Converter and download it. You should be getting more than just a few songs on the MP3 player you have.

3. grabber

grabber Member

Thanks!

Does this program convert the files "on your hardrive "and then you transfer to your MP3 player?

Typically how many songs are you getting on the 256 mg player?

Grabberlime

4. camstuf

camstuf Guest

try this:
    http://www.mightsoft.com/mp3_to_all_converter/mp3_to_all_converter.htm
    select open job dialog. the rest is easy.