1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MPEG1, 2 & WMV to DivX or Xvid - best program?

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by mikeeagle, Mar 15, 2005.

1. mikeeagle

mikeeagle Member

Hi there,

I tried out Dr. DivX to convert MPEG 1, 2 and Windows Media Video (.wmv) to DivX. Now the trial period is over and now I'm looking for an alternative. A program that can also use the Xvid codec would be great. Since I'm a newbie with this, what is the best program to use?

Thanks!

2. shiroh

shiroh Guest

virtualdub and xvid 1.1 beta1

3. The_OGS

The_OGS Active member

Shiroh I feel your answer (though doubtless well-intentioned) is inappropriate :)
    Surely the answer is GordianKnot, or perhaps AutoGKnot
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/autoGK.cfm
    for our ex-Dr.DivX newbie friend!
    To convert MPEG1 (VCD) or WMV, I dunno... (does Dr.DivX do that?) but there's no way I'm gonna backup DVDs manually, using VirtualDub, anymore these days.
    But I did in the old days (and got real good at synchronizing the audio & video, too ;-)
    Don't remind me, LoL.
    Anyway, to encode XviD or DivX you can't beat these programs - but I wouldn't describe GKnot as a converter exactly; it's an encoding tool (or actually suite of tools).
    Beats Dr.DivX though...
    Regards

4. shiroh

shiroh Guest

my bad,
    virtualdub won't accept mpeg2 and wmv, only if the wmv is in avi container.

so, i think GordianKnot or AutoGKnot is the best choice here. ecspecially AGK, with its automated process.

wonder why i posted something like that.

5. collarme

collarme Regular member

For Mpeg1 & 2 you should give Mpeg Mediator a go. Fast and gives excellent results. I use it with the Microsost Mpeg4 codec installed and it converts Mpeg in just about real time.

6. shiroh

shiroh Guest

7. mikeeagle

mikeeagle Member