1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MX vs ATV Unleashed

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by pmelf, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. pmelf

    pmelf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anyone back up MX vs ATV?? it is 4.3 Gig.

    Help!!
     
  2. syzable

    syzable Guest

    Backed this game up with no special procedures and it works fine. No probs at all.
     
  3. sleeboss

    sleeboss Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if you rebuild it seems to play better for swap magic users.
     
  4. jaxxpro

    jaxxpro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my version i burned crashes on the loading screen...anyone else have this?
     
  5. welcome3

    welcome3 Guest

    Mine works perfectly.. No flaws
     
  6. tryingit

    tryingit Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    use dvd decrypter and it should work ok
     
  7. niko1zqbk

    niko1zqbk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used dvd decryptor and i burned it at 4x because my burner doesn't let me go any lower and it doesn't go past the loading screen
     
  8. ballzonya

    ballzonya Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Backing up with DVD Decryp, is a chip and boot disc required? Thanks for the help!
     
  9. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ballzonya, yes in order to play your PS2 back ups you will need either a chip, or to use a boot disc (Swap Magic) with a flip top or slidecard.
    You can get them all over the net.
     
  10. crystal7c

    crystal7c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I burned mine with dvd decrypter and as soon as i boot the dvd with swap magic 3.3 i get code red => black 'n white game (but it works...)

    Memorex dvd+r
    LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S (DVD+R9:2.4x, DVD+RW:8x/4x, DVD-RW:8x/4x, DVD-ROM:12x, CD-RW:40x/24x/40x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)

     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2005
  11. jaxxpro

    jaxxpro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i burned a version with nero...crashes on the loading screen....burned it with dvd decrypter...says its not a valid ps2 disc...what do i do?!?!?
     
  12. pmelf

    pmelf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    jaxxpro, use dvd decrpt to read your orginal image, then use isobuster to rebuild or shrink the iso file, then use nero 6 to burn your new isobuster image to a dvd.
     
  13. aj4nj

    aj4nj Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey all.

    I have been having the same problem. Game just gets stuck at 'Loading' screen.
    I am using Swap Magic 3.3.

    I have noticed a lot of people on different sites say to rebuild the .ISO and it works great.

    But no one ever gives any instructions on how to rebuild the .iso.

    If anyone could please tell me & others how this is done. it would be much appreciated.

    Thanx,
    Andrew.
     
  14. FreeGamer

    FreeGamer Guest

    ***COPY AND PASTED***ISO REBUILDER***

    1) COPY THE PS2 GAME DVD TO YOUR HARD DRIVE AS AN ISO IMAGE.
    a)OPEN DVD Decrypter.
    b)IN THE DESTINATION AREA, CLICK ON THE FOLDER ICON TO CHOOSE BOTH A NAME AND A STORAGE LOCATION FOR THE ISO IMAGE.
    c)CLICK ON MODE > ISO > READ.
    d)CLICK ON THE DVD ICON TO START THE PROCESS.
    e)WAIT UNTIL THE PROCESS IS FINISHED THEN CLOSE DECRYPTER AND GO TO STEP 2.

    2) EXTRACT THE FILES FROM THE ISO IMAGE.
    a) CREATE A NEW FOLDER ON YOUR HARD DRIVE TO STORE THE
    EXTRACTED FILES.
    b) OPEN ISO BUSTER AND CLICK ON FILE > OPEN IMAGE FILE.
    c) NAVIGATE TO THE ISO FILE CREATED IN STEP 1 AND CLICK ON “OPEN”.
    d) HOLD THE CONTROL KEY ON YOUR KEYBOARD AND LEFT CLICK
    EVERY FILE AND FOLDER IN THE LIST.
    e) ONCE ALL THE FILES ARE HIGHLIGHTED, RIGHT CLICK ON ONE OF THEM AND CLICK ON “EXTRACT OBJECTS”.
    f) NAVIGATE TO THE NEW FOLDER THAT YOU CREATED ON YOUR
    HARD DRIVE AND CLICK “OK”.
    g) WAIT FOR THE PROCESS TO FINISH THEN CLOSE ISOBUSTER.

    3) CONVERT THE EXTRACTED FILES INTO 2 BIN FILES.

    a) OPEN CDVDGEN.
    b) SELECT “CREATE NEW PROJECT” AND THEN SELECT “DVD-ROM
    MASTER DISC”. DRAG CDVDGEN TO THE LEFT SIDE OF YOUR
    SCREEN.
    c) NAVIGATE TO THE FOLDER THAT YOU CREATED ON YOUR HARD
    DRIVE BACK IN STEP 2 AND OPEN IT ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF YOUR SCREEN.
    d) SET THE WIDTH OF THAT WINDOW SO THAT IT IS ONLY 1 FILE WIDE. THIS WILL PLACE THE FILES INTO THE SAME ORDER AS THEY WERE ON THE GAME DISK BUT YOU SHOULD CHECK THEM FOR CORRECT ORDER JUST IN CASE.
    e) CLICK ON EDIT > SELECT ALL.
    f) DRAG ALL THE FILES INTO THE RIGHT SIDE OF CDVDGEN.
    g) LOOK FOR A SLUS OR SLES FILE AND WRITE DOWN THE FULL NAME AND THEN CLICK ON THE “VOLUME” TAB IN CDVDGEN.
    h)TYPE SLUS OR SLES (WHICHEVER YOUR FILE NAME IS) INTO THE 1ST BOX NEAR "DISC NAME"
    i) TYPE ALL OF THE NUMBERS FROM YOUR FILE NAME, WITHOUT THE PERIOD, INTO THE 2ND BOX.
    j) TYPE PLAYSTATION FOR THE PRODUCER NAME AND SELECT THE APPROPRIATE LICENSE AREA.
    k)CLICK ON "REC...".
    l)SELECT YOUR DESIRED STORAGE LOCATION AND NAME THE FILE STAR.IML
    m)YOU WILL GET 2 ERRORS, JUST CLICK OK FOR BOTH.
    (If you get one error message, then you have to download “WNASPI32.DLL” www.nero.com/us/WNASPI32.DLL.html
    and put it in your windows system 32 folder.
    n)THE RECORDING SCREEN WILL POP UP, CLICK ON FILE > EXPORT IMAGE AND SAVE IT ON ONE OF YOUR HARD DRIVES (NOT IN A FOLDER) NAME IT STAR.LST
    o) WHEN IT'S FINISHED, YOU WILL HAVE 2 FILES NAMED STAR.000 AND STAR.001
    p)CLOSE CDVDGEN AND GO TO STEP 4.

    4) MERGE THE .000 AND .001 FILES INTO A SINGLE ISO IMAGE.
    THE EASIEST WAY TO MERGE THE FILES IS FROM A COMMAND SCREEN.
    YOU WON'T HAVE TO INSTALL AN EXTRA PROGRAM THAT MAY NEED
    EXTRA FILES TO WORK AND COME ON, ADMIT IT, DOS IS SO MUCH FUN!!
    a)CLICK THE WINDOWS START BUTTON AND CLICK ON RUN.
    b)TYPE CMD IN THE BOX AND HIT ENTER.
    c)CHANGE THE DIRECTORY TO MATCH WHERE YOUR STAR.000 AND STAR.001
    FILES ARE STORED.
    EXAMPLE- IF THEY ARE ON THE C DRIVE, TYPE CD C:\ AND HIT ENTER.
    IF THEY ARE ON ANOTHER DRIVE, TYPE THE DRIVE LETTER WITH A COLON AND HIT ENTER.
    d)ONCE YOU HAVE THE CORRECT DIRECTORY-
    TYPE COPY/B STAR.000 + STAR.001 STAR.ISO AND THEN HIT ENTER.
    e)WHEN IT'S FINISHED YOU WILL HAVE A NEW ISO IMAGE NAMED STAR.ISO THAT YOU CAN NOW BURN IN STEP 5.

    5) BURN THE NEW ISO IMAGE ONTO A DVD.
    USE YOUR FAVORITE DVD BURNING UTILITY.
     
  15. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No need to rebuild MX-VS-ATV
    I burned with DVD Decrypter and have played many times with no crashes, well at least the game doesn't crash, me on the other hand, hahaha

    the only thing about this game is that the load times are horrible. It takes 3-4 times longer to load up a race in season mode than any other game i have ever played.
     
  16. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I noticed that the load times seem really long, also. I'm using a DMS4.
     
  17. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    yep, mine has a DMS4 Pro chip, but i don't think that is the problem. I will have to try it on my V7 to see if it is the same, but i assume it is. I have no problems with any other games taking that long to load.

    P.S. the new ToxicOS v0.3 is due to be released this week for the DMS4 Pro!!!!
    Now you will be able to play DVD9 Back ups and much more.
     
  18. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'm using the lite, but they're saying that 1.3 is coming out also. Hey steimy, this is a little o.t., but do you happen to know if the dms will load games directly off the hdd? I'm not new to the ps2's, mod chips, etc., but I've never bothered with a hdd. Just read recently about playing from the drive help save the laser and (duh)this makes sence. So I've already ordered hd advance and I'm heading out soon to pick up a 80gig hitatchi that's on sale.
     
  19. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  20. CagadaMan

    CagadaMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My load times are perfectly normal. I burned the game with DVD Decryptor at 2.4x and load the game with my Swap Magic v3.3 discs. Loading times actually seem shorter then the original game. I burned Burnout 3 to a 16x Verbatim DVD+R and the loading times where horribly slow. So I reburned it to a 8x Memorex DVD+R and now the game works perfectly. Make sure you use good media when your burning a game. It really makes a difference.
     

Share This Page