1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my burned movie won't play on tv dvd player

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by tuleaf, Sep 6, 2004.

  1. tuleaf

    tuleaf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I copied a dvd movie using dvd wizard pro. It copied great, plays on the computer, but not on any other
    player on the tv. I used a dvd+r 4x disk. Does that make a difference?
    A real newbie here.
    Thanks for any help you can give me
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    tuleaf,

    Why did you go and buy dvd wizard pro? Ahh, your buddies here on aD would have recommended the free stuff!!

    You need to try DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter (again both free!!).

    Now what brand of media are you using? Your standalone player may not be compatible with the media. You can check your players compatibility here:
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers
    [bold]The site is down right now (moving servers), but should be up soon[/bold]
     
  3. tuleaf

    tuleaf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you sooooooo much for all your help. I got new media, shrink and dvd decoder. They worked great!!!!!
    Do I have to use decoder when I use shrink?
    Or do I decode it then send shrink to those files?
    I did the backup with shrink from the dvd.
    thanks again for your patience with me.
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    shrink is the only program you need to open (it can rip and compress at the same time). just set it to burn with dvd decrypter.
     
  5. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    tuleaf,

    You only need to use DVD Decrytper first if Shrink can't get passed the encryption (doens't happen very often).

    So if you ever come across a dvd that Shrink can't rip, try Decrypter :)
     
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    tuleaf,

    Just out of curiosity ... Why did you decide on dvd wizard pro? Where did you hear about it?
     
  7. tuleaf

    tuleaf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When I heard 321 studios went under, I started searching for another program to use, that was easy.
    I found an ad while surfing and it seemed pretty good and easy to use.
    It worked fine for me, except I used the wrong media and couldn't play it on tv.
    But it did take about five hours. one click to rip it and one click to burn it, was very easy to do.
    It's supposed to also do vcd and svd and divx although I haven't tried them yet.
     
  8. vidxtreme

    vidxtreme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not sure if it would give the same result to everyone. I have been following instructions from http://www.wizunder.com. I tried most of the tutorials and they are playing perfectly on my generic DVD PLAYER. What is so cool about this website is, I don't have to buy those really rip off software out there to make a back up copy of the disc that I own. I donated $5 just to help them with the hosting cost. What I got in return is a link to another tutorial on how to record [bold] TWO MOVIES IN ONE CDR[/bold]. It is really working...I hope this one help..
     
  9. tuleaf

    tuleaf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The first movie I backed up with shrink worked great.
    The second one wouldn't play in tv, so I tried it with decrypter first and that worked, but it skips now. Is skipping mostly a media problem?

     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Your either burning too fast or it's your media.

    Try burning at 4x or 2.4x. If you still have problems, try different media. Branded Verbatim DataLife Plus or Ritek's. I've also had good luck with TDK.
     
  11. tuleaf

    tuleaf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Flip, I got some TDK and they worked great.
    Thanks again for all your help, you're the best.
     

Share This Page