1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Computer won't recognize my dvd burner

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by chowder, Apr 27, 2003.

  1. chowder

    chowder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just installed my Toshiba SD-R5002 dvd burner and my computer won't recognize it. I'm using Windows 98. The drive is receiving power and will open and close properly. The drive is not showing up in windows explorer. I've tried adding hardware through the control panel, but it did not detect the new hardware.

    According to the Toshiba website, no driver is required. What should I do?
     
  2. HK71

    HK71 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sell it and by an Sony DRU500AX..
     
  3. chowder

    chowder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please help!
     
  4. chowder

    chowder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I figured out my problem. I bought the burner bare, so I had no directions or software.

    The dvd burner was added to my computer, which already had a cd burner. Both the dvd burner and cd burner were set as the master drive. The computer could not recognize two master drives.
     
  5. jsnkc28

    jsnkc28 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why would you buy a Sony, they are junk.
     
  6. ajrider

    ajrider Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same exact problem but even after i put the burner as the slave drive it still doesnt work. The weird thing is it does register it if i put it as the master drive and my dvd-rom as slave, but i dont want that so what do i have to do to make it the other way around?????
     
  7. ajrider

    ajrider Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same exact problem but even after i put the burner as the slave drive it still doesnt work. The weird thing is it does register it if i put it as the master drive and my dvd-rom as slave, but i dont want that so what do i have to do to make it the other way around?????
     
  8. commwiz

    commwiz Guest

    Did you go into the bios (cmos setup) to set it to recognize the drive? Also, the new 80 wire IDE cables are picky about which connector goes to the master (the end one) and to the slave (the middle one). Also, I have the Sony and according to consensus it's the best dvd burner on the market (I agree). The only coasters I burned were pretty much my own fault, and it'll burn even the cheapest media.
     

Share This Page