1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My processor and Mobo help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by bbiagllla, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey im looking for some advice/debate. i have a hp pavilion 750n.
    i have upgraded the memory to 2gb, the video card is ati radeon 9800 pro all in wonder, and i have upgraded the sound card to soundblaster audigy . i notice the computer still lags at times. i am wanting to upgrade my p4 1.6 cpu. howver i need to know what type socket it is so i can purchase a new one. i cant seem to find it by googling and was wondering if anyone knew. also what would be the best cpu upgrade for my computer. i was thinking of buying a new motherboard and tower on a side note. would my vid card, sound card, and memory be compatible to any MB i bought? thanks for the help.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  3. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hmm that sucks. well i went to that site and it doesnt tell me what socket my cpu is. from searching though i am coming to believe it is 478. i found a nice p4 3.0 ghz for 80$. would it be wise to buy that or stop upgrading this one and build a new one.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    read more closely next time.
    "Processor socket type mPGA478"
    can use only these types of cpu not prescott.
    "Processor family Pentium(R) 4 (Willamette, Northwood)"
     
  5. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ah didnt see that. so i can only use williamette or northwood?
     
  6. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    found one 75$. thanks for the help. one more question. can i buy any pc case or do i have to get one that fits my mother board. i need a case that allows more air.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    go for an atx case which will handle the smaller micro-atx boards besides the bigger atx boards & will give you more room & airflow.
     
  8. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i was looking at Antec Nine Hundred Steel ATX. it looks like the perfect case. now if later on i want to use it to build a computer are the ATx boards top of the line. i mean will i find one easily with good options?
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    atx is not a make of board but the format of it. an atx case can handle either an atx size board or an micro-atx which is smaller then an atx board. a micro-atx case like your hp case can only take micro-atx boards not atx boards. you can use any manufacturer of boards like asus, asrock, gigabyte, esc & many others.
     
  10. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ah got you. thanks.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem.
     
  12. geowavve

    geowavve Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi bbiagllla,
    I have a 750n, did the vid card allow you to use a widescreen monitor?
     
  13. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have never tried a wide screen monitor. so i couldnt tell you. i dont see why not though.
     
  14. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So after doing some research. i think the reason my computer restarts itself over and over after loading windows is because of the processor. i was told it could take the 2.8 but after reading for hours i believe the p4b266-la mobo can only handly 2.2 p4. i guess ill have to return the 2.8. do i need to update my bios? can i overclock it to 3.0 or higher and run safely?
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  16. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so why does my computer restart itself over and over when i use the 2.8 p4. its a northwood 478 slot. is it true my mobo only runs 2.2ghz processors?
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the bios was not programed for the 2.8ghz & might not still even with the updated bios i linked to if you don't have that version now.
     
  18. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    gonna update today. gotta go buy a floppy. i wish somene else had this problem and could let me know. i just ordered a 2.2 p4 anyways. 25 bucks. ill see if that works. i guess ill throw the 2.8 away. waste of 80 bucks. damn 7 day return policy.
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    don't throw the 2.8ghz away as is still good, just get a board that can use it.
     
  20. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well if imma buy a new board. i would probably buy one that takes 3.0 or 3.2. ill look around. maybe i can find one cheap for my girl and hook her up.
     

Share This Page